Showpiece fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BASwitzer

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all, I'm new to the forums and relatively new to aquariums. I've been doing this for about 6 months now and upgraded from a 10 gallon tank to a 20 gallon tall tank a couple weeks ago. I'm wondering if I have any options in the new tank for adding a showpiece fish or any other fish. The tank is well on its way to being fully established courtesy of the substrate and filter media from my 10 gallon which was cycled. Currently I have 5 gold barbs, 3 cherry barbs and a black mystery snail, the aquarium is planted though I just started with live plants recently so they are still relatively small. Any thoughts on if I could add a showpiece fish or if I should leave it as is? I was considering a dwarf gourami once the plants mature a bit more. Thanks for your input!:fish2:

My only concern about a dwarf gourami in that setup is that they need a bit warmer water than the gold barbs like... If I remember right gold barbs like it below 75F, while Dwarf Gourami prefer 78F+. Also, Cherry Barbs need groups of 5+, so I'd top off your current group.

What are the dimensions of your 20 gallon? Is it a long, high, or hex? If it's a high, the barbs and snail are about all I'd say you can fit once you add a couple more Cherry Barbs. Same goes for the hex. If it's a long you could fit one paradise fish as a centerpiece fish. They have similar personalities and colors to the dwarf gourami but prefer the cooler temps that the barbs like.

I would up your cherrys to 5 and add a pair of kribensis to your tank or a pair of rams!!!

Rams and Kribs need much warmer water than the gold barbs will like, sadly... Otherwise they're usually my go-to recommendations for centerpiece fish.