Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-03-2009, 11:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Slow Acclimation

So... I'm kind of new to fishkeeping, but I really like it. Anyways, I bought two encyclopedias on fish, and one of them, I think its called the Mini-Encyclopedia on Tropical Aquariums or something like that, said that the whole idea of adding some of your tank water to the bag when you're acclimating your fish is a waste of time because it takes weeks for the fish to become acclimated to different water parameters.

It kind of confused me because everywhere else I heard differently (the guys at every fish store I've been to have told me to add some of my tank water to the bag to slowly acclimate them). I told the guy at my LFS about the book and he said I should completely disregard their recommendation and that the slow acclimation is very helpful.

Personally, I trust the guys at my LFS more than that little book, so I'm sticking with what they said. On a sidenote, the first few fish I bought I just plopped in there after floating the bag for about 30 minutes, and they were perfectly fine, but I'd still rather acclimate slowly just to be on the safe side.

Anyone have a definitive answer to this whole thing? Does adding some of your tank water to the bag help with acclimation, or is it just a waste of time like the book says?

Old 06-04-2009, 04:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist