so ive got ich

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rreekers

Aquarium Advice FINatic
so I have icy in my 60 g tank... I know to raise the temperature, but not sure how high to raise it..
also I know people add salt to their tanks, but I have quite a few plants and I know that salts not good for plants..so what should I do?

only 3 of my fish are showing signs that I noticed.. 1 of my female guppies has it the worse, followed by a male guppy and my Pearl gouramis has 5-7 spots that I've seen so far.

I wish I knew how I got it :/ last fish I added was 7 weeks ago and he isn't showing any spots... I did add 2 mystery snails 2 weeks ago, can snails carry it? I'm so confused

this is my first time with ich, I already started a gradual temp raise. I increased the temp from 77- 81... will increase more in the morning

Raise the temp slowly to 86. You can try the heat only method if you don't want to add salt. I've always used salt, but I've heard others report success with it.

Most of what I hear is that inverts like mystery snails cannot carry ich. I'm very skeptical about that.

I've had this problem many times before...all you have to do is raise the temperature to 86...that's all...keep it like that for about two weeks...this has always worked for me...I don't like using solutions in my water...only solution I put in is water conditioner...that's all...let me know how it went

Good points, I should have added increased aeration for sure! Keeping the lights off is also helpful.

siva said:
Good points, I should have added increased aeration for sure! Keeping the lights off is also helpful.

keep the lights off? really that helps? I don't think I've ever heard of that before

Mumma.of.two said:
Heat the tank to 86-88F
Vacuum more frequently.
Increase aeration.
Keep the temp up for a week after last spot disappears.