Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-21-2019, 10:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ironhulkthordad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 26
Soil Substrate amount for my Dimensions

I just placed an order for a custom rimless 48 x 24 x 16 tall tank. I have been looking to order some soil on Amazon for it to do some plants but I'm not sure how much I would need. Any ideas how many lbs of aquariam soil I would need to do the normal 3 inches with these dimensions maybe from experience.
__________________

__________________
ironhulkthordad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 11:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Leeatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Woodstock,Ga
Posts: 309
This might be of some help . Can get you in the ballpark .
https://www.plantedtank.net/substratecalculator.html
__________________

__________________
We are meant to be the stewards of the Earth and her creatures....not the masters.
Leeatl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 11:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ironhulkthordad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 26
Holy crap I just compared with the soil on amazon would cost me 500$ in eco-complete soil. It's 50$ Canadian a bag and I'd need 10 bags. Going to have to consider some cheaper options I think.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeatl View Post
This might be of some help . Can get you in the ballpark .
https://www.plantedtank.net/substratecalculator.html
__________________
ironhulkthordad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 11:36 PM   #4
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,979
Lol - same in Australia
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 11:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ironhulkthordad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 26
Is there anything wrong with just using potted plant soil.
__________________
ironhulkthordad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 11:50 PM   #6
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,979
Iíve used it in pots with a cap of gravel (make sure no additives). Itís a bit messy and donít want to dig into it much ime.

I ended up getting bags of seachem fluorite clay.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 12:13 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ironhulkthordad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 26
Still cost me around 300$. Feels a bit much right now only cause the custom tank alone cost me so much.
__________________
ironhulkthordad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 06:09 AM   #8
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,979
Wait until you go high tech lights and CO2

Soil works and I got good growth - just messy dealing with it. Iíve been meaning to look at hydroponics shops to see if they have anything.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 06:13 AM   #9
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,979
Something like this maybe crushed up (so bit of work and have never gotten around to it to try). Swapped over to ferns that donít need much substrate (if any).

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/CLAY-BAL...r=420740663699
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 09:26 AM   #10
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,478
Go inert sand... You'll thank me later.

TSC Stores black blacking sand... $15 / 50 lbs. You'll need 2-3 bags.

Or go to a pool / hot tub store and buy pool filter sand.

Either way, give them a good couple of rinses and you are set.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 09:53 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ironhulkthordad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 26
Those actually end up being more expensive. Also on Amazon you get even less.
__________________
ironhulkthordad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 09:54 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ironhulkthordad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 26
Sand for plants though? Shouldn't there be atleast a layer underneath with aquarium soil.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZxC View Post
Go inert sand... You'll thank me later.

TSC Stores black blacking sand... $15 / 50 lbs. You'll need 2-3 bags.

Or go to a pool / hot tub store and buy pool filter sand.

Either way, give them a good couple of rinses and you are set.
__________________
ironhulkthordad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 09:59 AM   #13
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironhulkthordad View Post
Sand for plants though? Shouldn't there be atleast a layer underneath with aquarium soil.
Sand is the best for plants... Easy to plant into, easy to keep clean.

What "aquarium soil" where you thinking of using?

Eco-Complete, Flourite are inert and contain no nutrients for plants, same as sand or regular gravel.

Only soils are ADA style aqua soils / tropics soils but those = $$$$.

Or organic potting mix but... that is very messy and requires a different style to a planted tank.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 10:25 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ironhulkthordad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 26
I did some research and I'm going to keep doing it but you're right eventually it all becomes inert and I actually prefer the look of sand. That being said with the nutrients you can get pods to put in the sand that gives them nutrients and actually lasts months at a time. What kind of pods what they are called I don't know yet.

I got a 80 gallon custom rimless tank beyond pumped I have 4 weeks till I get it and I want to do everything right with no regrets. I. Hoping to do a half scape half open area with some large nice scape rocks then what kind of fish I don't know. I used to own a 65 gallon discus tank. I was thinking this time doing African cichlids but apparently they like to dig and will mess up all my plants.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZxC View Post
Sand is the best for plants... Easy to plant into, easy to keep clean.

What "aquarium soil" where you thinking of using?

Eco-Complete, Flourite are inert and contain no nutrients for plants, same as sand or regular gravel.

Only soils are ADA style aqua soils / tropics soils but those = $$$$.

Or organic potting mix but... that is very messy and requires a different style to a planted tank.
__________________
ironhulkthordad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 10:29 AM   #15
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironhulkthordad View Post
I did some research and I'm going to keep doing it but you're right eventually it all becomes inert and I actually prefer the look of sand. That being said with the nutrients you can get pods to put in the sand that gives them nutrients and actually lasts months at a time. What kind of pods what they are called I don't know yet.

I got a 80 gallon custom rimless tank beyond pumped I have 4 weeks till I get it and I want to do everything right with no regrets. I. Hoping to do a half scape half open area with some large nice scape rocks then what kind of fish I don't know. I used to own a 65 gallon discus tank. I was thinking this time doing African cichlids but apparently they like to dig and will mess up all my plants.
I would just buy some dry ferts:

KNO3
KH2PO4
K2SO4
CSM+B
11% DTPA Iron (if your pH it above 7.0)
MgSO4 (might not be needed)
CaSO4 (might not be needed)

And dose the water column. That's all you need to do. Sand for substrate for it's ease on the wallet, it's ease to plant into and it's ease to clean plus you like the look of it. No capsules needed.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 10:35 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ironhulkthordad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 26
Once the sand becomes dead though wouldn't you want to get capsule to keep the nutrients going for the plants.

Also as a side question do you think I should get a small wavemaker. It's a 48 long 24 wide 16 tall. Would it be good for the fish and plants. I was told compared to a salt water if you do it has to be 1/4th of what they use on a salt water.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZxC View Post
I would just buy some dry ferts:

KNO3
KH2PO4
K2SO4
CSM+B
11% DTPA Iron (if your pH it above 7.0)
MgSO4 (might not be needed)
CaSO4 (might not be needed)

And dose the water column. That's all you need to do. Sand for substrate for it's ease on the wallet, it's ease to plant into and it's ease to clean plus you like the look of it. No capsules needed.
__________________
ironhulkthordad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 10:58 AM   #17
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironhulkthordad View Post
Once the sand becomes dead though wouldn't you want to get capsule to keep the nutrients going for the plants.

Also as a side question do you think I should get a small wavemaker. It's a 48 long 24 wide 16 tall. Would it be good for the fish and plants. I was told compared to a salt water if you do it has to be 1/4th of what they use on a salt water.


The sand is dead from the start, and will be colonized by bacteria that will cycle organic material back into available nutrients for plants.

You do not need capsules at all, ever. Dosing the water column with those compounds I mentioned is all that is needed. Keep the sand as clean as possible.

You can also use a product called Thrive. Itís a liquid that you simply dose the water with following the directions on the bottle.

Are you planning on using 100% sand, or what is your substrate you have already purchased?

What filter are you planning on using? That will help determine if you have enough flow for the tank or not. Typically you want a rated flow of 10x the tank volume per hour which will (in reality) be around 4-5x actual tank turnover per hour (because manufactures are poor advisors, but masters in deception).
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 11:04 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
ironhulkthordad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 26
I will be getting a aqueon canister filter. My tank is 80 so I'll probably get one rated up to 150.

Yes I am going to go 100% white sand with rocks and plants. I am going to kind of put the sand on a hill aswell with some extra rocks for the plants.

How do I get those compounds you mentioned into the tank?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZxC View Post
The sand is dead from the start, and will be colonized by bacteria that will cycle organic material back into available nutrients for plants.

You do not need capsules at all, ever. Dosing the water column with those compounds I mentioned is all that is needed. Keep the sand as clean as possible.

You can also use a product called Thrive. Itís a liquid that you simply dose the water with following the directions on the bottle.

Are you planning on using 100% sand, or what is your substrate you have already purchased?

What filter are you planning on using? That will help determine if you have enough flow for the tank or not. Typically you want a rated flow of 10x the tank volume per hour which will (in reality) be around 4-5x actual tank turnover per hour (because manufactures are poor advisors, but masters in deception).
__________________
ironhulkthordad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 12:18 PM   #19
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironhulkthordad View Post
I will be getting a aqueon canister filter. My tank is 80 so I'll probably get one rated up to 150.

Yes I am going to go 100% white sand with rocks and plants. I am going to kind of put the sand on a hill aswell with some extra rocks for the plants.

How do I get those compounds you mentioned into the tank?


www.rotalabutterfly.com

That link is used to determine how much of any compound to dose to reach certain levels.

I would suggest a PPS-Pro or an EI Light dosing regime.

This is dependent on your water source and your water change schedule. What are you planning to do with regards to water changes?

To get them into the tank, you can just dump them in dry, or make a solution and dose with a syringe. Both methods will require a small scale to weigh out the compounds. $20 off amazon should get you one with 0.001 gram accuracy and a calibration weight.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2019, 05:15 AM   #20
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,979
Just decided to put on order to 7kg bags of seachem fluorite dark here.
__________________

__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amount, ate, dim, oil, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amount of Substrate for a 55 gallon? rileymc Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-16-2017 04:45 AM
Amount of substrate. Spoor3773 Cichlid Discussion 9 06-03-2011 12:09 PM
Potting Soil or Peat as Substrate yelle0277 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 13 03-23-2011 08:19 PM
Soil like substrate? Japola44 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-14-2006 12:58 AM
Soil substrate? ferret Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 10-27-2003 02:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×