some help appreciated

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rick W.

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all, new to the forum.

I have been keeping aquariums for 16 years, I set up a 20 gallon tall freshwater tank at work beginning of May.

It has a Aqua clear 50 HOB with Chemi Pure and Bio Max and Bio balls which were seeded from my aquariums at home, it also has a top fin brand HOB which i added Bio Matrix seeded from a tank at home along with a Bio Ball.
it also has a Bio Sponge, i did also add java moss ball. stocking level at the present is 6 pristella tetras.

i am confused by the fact that i am still getting ammonia readings,ph is 6.5 and i have added sea chem neutral regulator for that. i am doing a 10-20 percent change every 2 weeks, i have added Start Right and Prime along with Stress Coat. i am not adding anything else until the ammonia drops,
My question is did i possibly overlook something or is it just that the water here sucks and should i consider RO water or buying Spring Water.

Thanks in advance for any advice

Hi all, new to the forum.

I have been keeping aquariums for 16 years, I set up a 20 gallon tall freshwater tank at work beginning of May.

It has a Aqua clear 50 HOB with Chemi Pure and Bio Max and Bio balls which were seeded from my aquariums at home, it also has a top fin brand HOB which i added Bio Matrix seeded from a tank at home along with a Bio Ball.
it also has a Bio Sponge, i did also add java moss ball. stocking level at the present is 6 pristella tetras.

i am confused by the fact that i am still getting ammonia readings,ph is 6.5 and i have added sea chem neutral regulator for that. i am doing a 10-20 percent change every 2 weeks, i have added Start Right and Prime along with Stress Coat. i am not adding anything else until the ammonia drops,