Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-10-2005, 08:49 PM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Spilled water in the plugs.. oops

Last night i decided to clean out the filter in my aquarium, since it gets pretty clogged up with all the live plants and stuff, well i have everything plugged into a surger protector behind the tank, and as i was lifting the filter, some water sloshed down into the plugs. The surge protecter got busted, but everything else was fine. I did however trip a breaker.. oops... lol, anyway, i just had to reset all the plugs and everything is A OK. I did have to wake up my husband and roomate at 1:00 in the morning though, so they could reset their alarm clocks.

Has anybody else ever done this? I moved the new surge protecter/power strip, to the side of the aquarium, so if i spill again, there won't be a problem
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 08:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I put the surge protector inside the bottom of the stand. That way if there is a spill, it will spill on the carpet, and not on the surge.
__________________

__________________
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 08:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Cant say ive ever spilled enough water to cause the breaker to blow but I can definitely
see it happening.
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 09:02 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
Water and electricity don't mix well under any conditions. I have...ummm...learned from this in the past as well.

I had just set up the tank when I decided to due the filter maintenance for the first time. I had forgotten about the level filler thingy on the back of the AquaClear...just yanked it up and water splashed down the back of the tank and into the power strip. I heard the sizzle and knew what was about to happen. I relocated the strip just as you have.

Live and learn...
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 09:11 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,082
Send a message via AIM to krap101
yes this happened to me a little while ago. the lil thingy got really hot and i unplugged it. when i turned it over about a cup of water spilled out (co2 backsiphon) i sdwitched now. the other one still works but doesnt have surge protection
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 09:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,110
I forgot the hose filling up a tank afet a pwc. Opps the water spilled into the power board and tripped the breaker. I unplugged every thing turned the power back on and mopped up. All is well that ends well. Not something I'd like to repeat.
__________________
mattrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2005, 09:51 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,759
I once dropped a 2 foot flourescent fixture into a 15 gallon tank, and the light didn't evn go out, and the fish were not harmed. It was actually pretty amazing, now that I think about it. I let it dry overnight before I used it again, but it didn't even trip the breaker, and stayed lit while I located the plug and pulled it.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 01:41 AM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
funny.. at least im not the only one
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 04:29 AM   #9
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
I have done it a few tiomes, and I am sure I will again before this decade is out. Never tripped a breaker or shorted anything, though.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 02:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 524
Send a message via AIM to Felf
i spilled a glass jar full of live brine onto the carpet and into my power strip once. it wasnt until later that i realized i shouldnt have used the vacuum cleaner in a panic because now we can smell burning brine shrimp everytime we use it but no one knows this but me
Felf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 02:59 PM   #11
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felf
now we can smell burning brine shrimp everytime we use it but no one knows this but me
Pray that no-one else ever finds out....I would kill you...repeatedly. Ewww.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 03:07 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 524
Send a message via AIM to Felf
Felf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 03:15 PM   #13
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Spilled water in the plugs.. oops

Quote:
Originally Posted by AshleyNicole
Last night i decided to clean out the filter in my aquarium, since it gets pretty clogged up with all the live plants and stuff, well i have everything plugged into a surger protector behind the tank, and as i was lifting the filter, some water sloshed down into the plugs. The surge protecter got busted, but everything else was fine. I did however trip a breaker.. oops... lol, anyway, i just had to reset all the plugs and everything is A OK. I did have to wake up my husband and roomate at 1:00 in the morning though, so they could reset their alarm clocks.

Has anybody else ever done this? I moved the new surge protecter/power strip, to the side of the aquarium, so if i spill again, there won't be a problem
I've done it before but I must have got lucky because nothing happened. I just unplugged everything, turned the protector over and shook out the water, and everything was goiod to go.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 03:30 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 245
Send a message via MSN to AquaJoe
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillD
I once dropped a 2 foot flourescent fixture into a 15 gallon tank, and the light didn't evn go out, and the fish were not harmed. It was actually pretty amazing, now that I think about it. I let it dry overnight before I used it again, but it didn't even trip the breaker, and stayed lit while I located the plug and pulled it.
I had an indentical experience.

Joe
__________________
AquaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 05:00 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felf
now we can smell burning brine shrimp everytime we use it but no one knows this but me
Pray that no-one else ever finds out....I would kill you...repeatedly. Ewww.
Thats way too much.. ROFL!!!

Felf.. you might look into replacing the power strip so you can quietly forget about it... 8) 8) 8)
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 05:10 PM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
well i didn't actually trip the breaker... you know how some plugs have the reset button on them? Thats what all of mine have, i guess its sort of a built in surge protector.. so i had to go hit the reset button on all the plugs that were on that circuit.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 05:11 PM   #17
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmagi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felf
now we can smell burning brine shrimp everytime we use it but no one knows this but me
Pray that no-one else ever finds out....I would kill you...repeatedly. Ewww.
Thats way too much.. ROFL!!!

Felf.. you might look into replacing the power strip so you can quietly forget about it... 8) 8) 8)
Its the vacuum that needs replacing....a bit harder than a mere power strip.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2005, 05:15 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
ahh.. I missed that some how...
I would just break the vacuum apart and clean it real good.. they usually can use a good cleaning every once in while anyway..LOL
My GF doesnt say anything to me when I break out the tools and clean ours.. but I guess that might just be me.. I fix the things too.. Im cheeeep!!! 8O
__________________

__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spilled few drops test chem into tank greyboysix Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 5 03-23-2008 08:13 PM
spilled coffee in tank mirabai68 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-27-2007 06:03 PM
Reef Plugs revhtree DIY Projects 3 05-07-2005 11:02 AM
spilled carbon!?! phantomsk8er5 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-13-2004 04:49 PM
reef plugs kribbz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-16-2003 04:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×