sponge filter and bio media

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cyris69

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I setup my rcs tank last night using cycled tank water and also added my first sponge filter. My question is can I add media to the uplift tube?

I took some ceramic beads that are in one of my filters that has bio on it and dropped around 10 in my uplift tube. Since it's anaerobic bacteria wouldn't it benefit from the aeration and water movement or am I just impeding the water flow?

I honesty can't tell if the filter is doing anything or not since I have never used a sponge filter before. It's a hydro II with a whisper 20 air pump, is that sufficient for a 10 gallon shrimp tank? Should I have gotten a bigger air pump and will those bio beads benefit as well as keep bacteria since you have to clean the filter often?

You really don't need to drop more bio media into the uptake. And it can mess with the flow of air drawing water through. If a few fall down in odd angles it could really cut off the flow.

The sponge will be all the filter you'll need, especially for a shrimp tank.

To clean the filter, you drain a bit of tank water into a bucket , put the sponge in it and squeeze the filter a half dozen times or so, then replace it. This gets rid of most of the solids and leaves the bio pretty intact.

Your shrimp will be all over the sponge eating quite often.

Oh, and that sponge and air pump will do just fine. Get a small cheap air valve and you can adjust the flow of air. I use cheapo Walmart brand dual outlet pumps on mine and they work great, so your Whisper 20 will be good.

If you have a good stream of bubbles coming out of the top, it's working.

Awesome thanks for your reply!