Starter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

adamtweedie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys I got my aquarium a few weeks back , I have a few questions,
first of all it is a 64 litre and I think its over stalked,
rummy nose - 7
guppy - 6
gourami dwarf - 2
silver dollars - 3
tiger barbs- 4
bala shark - 1

also 2 of my guppies are pregnant, I put one (ready to pop) in a breeding trap i woke up the next moning to find her(sadly) dead .. I don't know why this is .. i was thinking it was something to do with the air in the breeding trap ..
also i would like some advice on nitrate nitrite etc etc as i am a beginner i only have tap conditioner. sorry for being such a noob

adam,

Don't apologize for being new to the hobby, we were all in your shoes once. ;)

This tank is severely overstocked. I would advise you to immediately rehome:

silver dollars (get too big for tank)
bala shark (needs a group and gets too big for tank)
1 dwarf gourami (one will kill the other)
tiger barbs (need more in their school and are too aggressive for this tank)

I would actually prefer to see the rummys in a larger school in a larger tank, but that's personal preference.

Get yourself an API test kit ($23 online). You need to know your readings.

Read up on this if you haven't already: I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?!

Ask tons of questions, that's why we're here.

Oh my god ! thanks very much also what fish do you recommend then?
thanks

also with regards to the gourami's i thought they had to live in groups of 2 or more? they love each other lol

The gouramis may love each other because they're juveniles, but once they reach adulthood, they'll rip each other apart.