Starting New 33 Gal Tank <NEWB>

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

searooster

Aquarium Advice Newbie
OK. I've been waiting to setup my tank for about 9 months now. I was planning on moving so i didn't want to set it up then move it. Now the time has come. I'm totally new to the hobby. Zero Experience. I have a 33 gallon tank with a hood and light. I built a nice custom stand. I have a filter and a thermomoter.

Heres some of my starting questions.

1. Do freshwater tanks need any special hardware like SW tanks need? I.E. sumps, protien skimmers, refugiums?

2. I would like to get some blue crayfish. 1 mabey 2. (sorry i don't know if thats lame or not) ;) Anyway can i have live plants or will they eat theses?

3. If i can have live plants which ones will the crayfish not eat? And will i need a special type of sand for live plants.

4. Do freshwater fish need Lunar lights for at night time? If i get one anyway will this effect the fish adversly? because i think they make the tank look cool at night.

Thanks for all the Help

first off welcome to AA!!!
1.no they do not but you could get them if you wish but for a 33 you probaly wont.
2.i dont really know the answer to this since i dont own any.
3.for the substrate it depends on the type of plants but usually eco-complete is good.
4.no they do not need lunar lights.it might effect the fish colour because of to much light but you may be able to.also you will need to cycle the tank here is a link about that it says for sw but its the same for fw link:http://www.aquariumadvice.com/article_view.php?faq=2&fldAuto=15. hopefully someone else will chime in to to help out with things i didnt answer or things i was wrong on.
ryan

1. You dont need any of that stuff. Filter, Hetaer and lights.

2. You can get crayfish, but they do not mix well with fish. I beleive they will tear up live plants.