Stocking thoughts?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

spongebob69

Aquarium Advice Activist
Well...I'm getting pretty close to buying my aquarium. Still undecided on size..got it down between a 65 or a 75 in all probability. Here is a wishlist as far as stocking goes.

Option 1:

5-7 Boesmani Rainbows
3 YoYo Loaches
1 Red tail shark (if possible)

Any thoughts on other possible tankmates I could have? If I have room i'd like another species, maybe a small school of something.

Option 2:

A cichlid setup with various mbuna species. Labs etc.

Option 3:

A pair of Green Terror's perhaps with another cichlid or two or pleco.

Keep in mind I am new to the hobby.

In you opinion, what is my best option? I am leaning towards the community setup to start out with but would like to know what else I might add to my list.

Thanks in advance.

I like your first option, with more rather than fewer rainbows, and a school of 8-9 serpae tetras for red color. I'd also consider a BN pleco or a school of cory cats, but if you get a RTS they will compete for caves and hiding places, so you may want to skip the pleco and the cories if you go with the shark. The rainbows and serpaes and loaches will likely be fine with the shark.

That would make a wonderful mbuna tank but you have to be very careful with stocking to control aggression. That kind of tank will at some point or another have "issues" you will have to deal with, and it is hard to add new fish. With the first setup you'll just mainly have to worry about controlling water parameters and such.

Just one possibility of many, and I am sure you'll get lots of opinions!