Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-18-2014, 12:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Strange Alien Pods or eggs need expert help plz

Hello Everyone , I have been keeping fish for almost thirty years and I have never had this or seen this before . And I am hoping somebody knows what these are .
As its driving me nuts not knowing what these white pods are .

I have these strange white eggs that appeared out of nowhere and slowly multiple . they are adhered to the side of some rocks .and also along the first layer of gravel along the glass .

I left them alone at first and watched them , they never hatched . But every two- three weeks they seem to multiply .
They don't move , they don't gain size , they don't change colors. They don't do anything really.

They are like 1-2 mm. And are hard but brittle . And hollow inside .They seem stuck to the rock surface and when poked they crack ,and do not come off the rock easy
The shell cracks like a chicken egg but there is almost nothing inside . A small white jelly but not a full embryo or anything like organs or innards or organs .

At first I thought they were some kind of egg but after several weeks of watching them I know there something strange .

This is in a 2 yr. old community tank , with under gravel and an aqua clear filter with all specs nominal . Regular maintenance, never use any chemicals
No problems ever ,all rocks are old and have been in my tanks for years , also they are bleached and boiled then thoroughly rinsed before this tank was set up . there is a red tail shark, male beta , 2 rosy boras , several neon tetras, Pleco, CAE, glass catfish and some snails and a few live plants .