Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-30-2005, 08:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to Japola44
Stress Zyme vs. Bio Spira

I was wondering what the difference between the two is? I recently got a bottle of Stress Zyme to use in my 55gal and my 20 gal. I was going to get Bio Spira but no one carries it not even petsmart. Both say they contain live bacteria. I made sure not to get a porduct that only supplements in bacteria growth, but insted has bacteria. Is one better than the other? I recently found a site that ships bio spira; so, should i order that instead?
__________________

__________________
-Julia
"it is impossible to convey the life-sensation of any given epoch of one's existence--that which makes its truth, its meaning--its subtle and penetrating essence. It is impossible. We live, as we dream--alone..." The Heart of Darkness
Japola44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 08:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Bio spira carries actual live bacteria,it must even be refrigerated, stress zyme does not. Stress zyme will not help in the cycle of your tank. You can order the bio spira or do a fishless cycle with ammonia.
__________________

__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 09:28 PM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
both stress zyme and the cycle claim to have live bacteria... and it does, only it is in a spore form and well... they are pretty much useless products. Bio-spira is the only one that anyone really seems to have luck with.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 11:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
stress zyme claims to cycle your tank????? its a slime coat additive as far as I know.. ie its not the same class of product..
if you want a slime coat additive get the stress zyme
if you want a product to cycle your tank get bio-spira..
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 12:03 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: nyc
Posts: 599
except be careful with biospira--don't rely on it to completely cycle the tank--even though that's what it says it does. i tried it and i didn't get "instantaneous" results--although i'm sure it helped--sort of...
__________________
don't turn your back on the ocean.
crazycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 12:42 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: IA
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmaji
stress zyme claims to cycle your tank????? its a slime coat additive as far as I know.. ie its not the same class of product..
if you want a slime coat additive get the stress zyme
if you want a product to cycle your tank get bio-spira..
Are you thinking of stress coat? Stress zyme does claim to assist with cycling your tank so it is similar in class to biospira. Stress coat aids in the slime coat, dechlorinates, etc.
__________________
coolchinchilla
a small zoo is cool!
coolchinchilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 01:09 AM   #7
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by AshleyNicole
both stress zyme and the cycle claim to have live bacteria... and it does, only it is in a spore form
Um...no...not in any form, actually....except dead form.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 01:56 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunnyvale,California
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to azn_fishy55
Yeah,according to greenmaji's description,I think your talking about Stress Coat.I used Bio-Spira and listened to the LFS(I thought I was smarted enough not to listen XP)that it would instantly cycle my tank over night.HTH
__________________
=] ~:Andrew:~ [=
azn_fishy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 06:53 AM   #9
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by AshleyNicole
both stress zyme and the cycle claim to have live bacteria... and it does, only it is in a spore form
Um...no...not in any form, actually....except dead form.
LOL.. so that's why it doesn't work I got conned into cycle once and it didn't do a darn thing so now i just rely on real bacteria out of my already seeded tank. But according to the manufacturer of cycle their bacteria is in "spores" which is why you don't have to refrigerate it until after it is opened.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 04:02 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to Japola44
well seeing as i bought stress zyme yesterday...i used it. It seems to be working? I have been testing my 55 gal's water everyday sense i set it up. It wasn't until a week later my ammonia tested at .25ppms, after i put fish in thinking i had instantly cycled it by seeding it with my 20 gal's filter. The bad timing of the ammonia peak was when i had been using antibiotics in my 20 so no more bacteria... So, in search of something to help my 20 regain bacteria after i finished medicating, and to look for something to help my poor fish in the 55 gal i got stress zyme. The only thing available. I put in 20 more ml than suggested for my tank tested the water .25ammonia, 0 for everything else. This morning my test read .25 ammonia, .25 nitrite, 5 nitrate

Did it work? I think so...
Coincidence? maybe...
__________________
-Julia
"it is impossible to convey the life-sensation of any given epoch of one's existence--that which makes its truth, its meaning--its subtle and penetrating essence. It is impossible. We live, as we dream--alone..." The Heart of Darkness
Japola44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2005, 04:18 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
No, it didn't work. The fact that you have the same amount ammonia is a testiment to that. Truth be told, these products (all other than Bio-Spira) do not contain live bacteria, which is the only thing that can help/assist with a cycle.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 04:40 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to Japola44
but wouldnt the rise in nitrite and nitrate mean that there has been some bacteria growth?
__________________
-Julia
"it is impossible to convey the life-sensation of any given epoch of one's existence--that which makes its truth, its meaning--its subtle and penetrating essence. It is impossible. We live, as we dream--alone..." The Heart of Darkness
Japola44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 12:21 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
No IMO that is a coincidence, the nitrites would be showing up about now. Nitrate readings can be inaccurate with nitrites in the water.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 01:59 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to Japola44
alright well i will keep an eye on the water levels then...
__________________
-Julia
"it is impossible to convey the life-sensation of any given epoch of one's existence--that which makes its truth, its meaning--its subtle and penetrating essence. It is impossible. We live, as we dream--alone..." The Heart of Darkness
Japola44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 02:05 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
A rise in nitrite will occur naturally as part of the cycle in the presence of ammonia, even if you add nothing. With the addition of live bacteria you should not see any nitrite or ammonia, only nitrAte, indicating that you have colonies of the bacteria that are filtering your water.

The addition of live bacteria (Bio-Spira) without adequate ammonia (too few fish) to feed the quantity added will result in a slight ammonia and nitrite spike, giving you an accelerated cycle but not the "instant" one you expect.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 04:10 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 520
Send a message via ICQ to Codefox Send a message via AIM to Codefox Send a message via MSN to Codefox Send a message via Yahoo to Codefox
Why would too much bacteria for the fish in the tank result in a ammonia and nitrite spike?
__________________
Codefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 06:28 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 491
Send a message via AIM to Japola44
i think its because the bacteria would die off with not enough to eat? Maybe the decay of the bacteria would cause a spike...idk. I tested my water today and the ammonia had rised to .50ppms my poor fish i did a 20% pwc to try and help them out poor guys. the nitrite and nitrate were both the same. the pH also dropped to 7.4 I think alot of thje problem is on the half of the tank where the filter isnt there is a lot of debris that doesnt get sucked up i think i will get a powerhead to help kep the water moving around
__________________
-Julia
"it is impossible to convey the life-sensation of any given epoch of one's existence--that which makes its truth, its meaning--its subtle and penetrating essence. It is impossible. We live, as we dream--alone..." The Heart of Darkness
Japola44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 07:01 PM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codefox
Why would too much bacteria for the fish in the tank result in a ammonia and nitrite spike?
The live bacteria come out of the little packet warmed up and looking for food. The guidelines on the package are for a fully stocked tank. So if you use the amount of Bio-Spira to treat a 30-gal tank because that is the size tank you have, yet you have 4 zebra danios in there alone, then all that extra bacteria will die off and become a waste product in the tank, producing ammonia. In the above case you would use enough Bio-Spira to treat, say, a 5-10 gallon tank, even though you have 30 gallons of water.

That's why it is important to use Bio-Spira for a fully stocked tank - you will have enough bacteria to support all of the fish, and not have to add them slowly while you try to build bacterial colonies, and you are not wasting this relatively expensive product.

I don't know if I am explaining it well, but the confusion about it results in disappointed aquarists, when in fact if the product had been dosed correctly for the quantity of fish and not the quantity of water, results should be an overnight cycle, with no ammonia and no nitrite. I don't think the package instructions are clear on that, or at least they weren't the last time I used it.

If you have other tanks, however, then you already have your own colonies of bacteria, and as long as you seed the new tank with enough bacteria for the bioload you are adding, then it works overnight just like the Marineland product. I do it all of the time and don't "cycle" tanks traditionally anymore because of the seed material I have available.

Japola44 - you are on the right track with your water changes, and a very small PWC every day might be in order. The excess debris could be causing acidification as it decays and causing a pH drop, which can be corrected with PWCs if your tap is closer to your target. Salt added to your tank will help a lot with nitrite poisoning, as will splashing of the filter return water and/or a bubble wall to help oxygenate the water. Good luck.
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, stress

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bio-Spira or bio-zyme products? Chriznat20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 35 01-23-2010 11:36 PM
Too Much Stress Coat & Stress Zyme? HollieDahhrlinn Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-30-2009 11:04 PM
Stress Zyme Vs. De-chlorinator? follicle Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 05-21-2009 12:49 AM
Stress Zyme? jmcbubbles Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 01-20-2006 12:17 PM
Aquarium Pharma - Stress Coat and Stress Zyme pachuco2k Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 11-04-2003 07:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×