Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-08-2014, 12:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 130
Substrate change and kuhli loaches

Hello all.

I recently changed my substrate from gravel to Seachem Flourite. I use this in one of my other tanks and my plants are doing amazing in it. So I decided to switch to this. Looks nice and very natural.

I have a 10 gallon aquarium with 3 kuhli loaches amongst other fish. I tend to see them out a lot more than I used to. I'm assuming the gravel was easier to dig through maybe? I really do like this substrate though. It's very nice in contrasting with the green of my plants.

It's a heavily planted tank and I have two large pieces of driftwood in it. Or just stick with my current setup?

Any recommendations to make my kuhlis happier?
__________________

__________________
LCieParagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 02:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,432
Gravel is very hard for Khuli's to dig in. The substrate switch could have made them feel safer because they can dig to hide when they get frightened. The more places they have to duck for the cover the more they are out.
__________________

__________________
wildroseofky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 03:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildroseofky View Post
Gravel is very hard for Khuli's to dig in. The substrate switch could have made them feel safer because they can dig to hide when they get frightened. The more places they have to duck for the cover the more they are out.
I'm not sure they can dig at all in the new substrate. They did just fine in my gravel.
__________________
LCieParagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 12:22 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildroseofky View Post
Gravel is very hard for Khuli's to dig in. The substrate switch could have made them feel safer because they can dig to hide when they get frightened. The more places they have to duck for the cover the more they are out.
Since I already did my substrate change, I rather not do anything more drastic. Like I said, I like the look. I'm just afraid they aren't burrowing. There are so many places to hide though. It's literally covered in plants. They used to burrow through the gravel like nothing.

Maybe I could get sand to put in a very specific area like in the back by the driftwood. Petsmart sells 2 lbs of betta sand for $4.99. But I really don't want to change my substrate again. I honestly like the look. I care very much about my plants and inject co2 daily.
__________________
LCieParagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 01:56 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,432
Khulies do not have to burrow. They do it in the wild to hide but as long as they have plenty of above ground hiding spots they will be fine. You could add a few small clay pots, small bottles like vitamin bottles, or other things to hide in if think they need more hiding spots. I have used egg shells broken in half, rinsed, and a small door broken out of the edge for bottom dwellers to hide in. It also helps the snails get calcium. They love the eggshells. You can also buy those small .25 cent clay pots and hide the food under them for the khulies so the other fish do not eat it. They climb in through the hole in the top to get to the food. They will be fine in your substrate.
__________________
wildroseofky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 02:03 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Could u maybe post a pic so we can see the layout
__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 06:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyofhockey View Post
Could u maybe post a pic so we can see the layout
Here is my tank. There are hiding spots, obviously.

__________________
LCieParagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 06:46 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rockyofhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,532
Yes it looks very very good they should e hood
__________________

__________________
rockyofhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, change, kuhli, kuhli loach, loach, loaches, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Wanted Zebra Loaches and kuhli loaches in So cal mulishafan90 Archive 0 03-14-2012 06:41 PM
What the point in Black Kuhli Loaches and Upside down catfish Joeybsmooth Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-29-2011 07:42 AM
Black Kuhli Loaches and Behavior IERTOI Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 03-31-2011 07:27 AM
mollies and black kuhli loaches with female bettas? JOMA Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 02-22-2011 01:53 PM
Black Kuhli Loaches & Substrate Promisedsin Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 23 04-16-2010 05:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×