Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-15-2019, 10:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,818
Substrate question

Iím going to be setting up a 40 breeder for an Apistogramma pair so I plan on planting it. I was wondering if it would be a good idea to get 20 lbs of eco complete and put some under/mixed with the 30-40 lbs of sand? Iím only planning on low to medium light plants, some swords, crypts, Val, annubias, and moss so nothing crazy. Also lighting suggestions would be appreciated, looking at one from beams work off amazon, or one of the Finnex models.
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 08:42 AM   #2
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,408
Beamswork DA-FSPEC with the optional dimmer.

Go with 100% sand. Eco-Complete is crushed lava rock and provides no benefit to plants.
__________________

__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 09:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,818
What about another plant substrate or just use some root tabs?
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 02:31 PM   #4
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
What about another plant substrate or just use some root tabs?
Which others are you looking at?

Root tabs aren't necessary regardless of the substrate being used.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 08:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,818
Anything really, was just trying to set myself up for success
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 10:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,090
Sand will fall through eco complete and create a mix. Not a bad thing, just not uniform. Pool filter sand and root tabs works fine. You lay down a base layer of seachem fine sand or any clay based material for rooting purposes.
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 11:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,818
Ok Iíve got like 50ish pounds of white aquarium sand I got from a guy I work with Iíll just use that. Will 2-3Ē be good or should I go a little deeper?
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 11:43 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,090
2-3" is good. Get some Malaysian trumpet snails to keep everything fluid.
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 12:10 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,818
Nice a fw version of the nassarius, Iím in
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, question, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
substrate or no substrate fishydave Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 06-27-2013 05:19 PM
Fertiliser Substrate under gravel substrate mwe_ch Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-07-2010 05:44 PM
Cleaning Substrate When Substrate is Fully Covered in Plants beauxarts Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-08-2010 10:26 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 06:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.