Sword help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stacey W.

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Well, I've had Sword for approximately 2 1/2 weeks now I trimmed the dead leaves off before I planted it in my tank and added root tabs. Last week I trimmed a few more leaves. I have 3 new leaves coming in on the bottom that are fairly healthy looking . Also I have a couple leaves coming in in the center of the plant that are slightly translucent and very light green on color. What am I doing wrong?

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Here's a pic

Attachments

• 1431465788932.jpg
    1431465788932.jpg
    203.2 KB · Views: 73
Nope

My eyes deceive me. Some plants will melt when adapting to new environments. Just keep pulling off the dead stems and it will come back

Caleb

Ok, as you may already know I am new to a planted tank. Maybe impatience, I am just afraid to kill this beautiful plant by trimming too much. Also if I don't trim the stems as short as I can will this effect the plant growth? Be prepared everyone for lots of questions in the future. ;)

Well I am far from a plant expert. I've had plants before that melted away to nothing, got them again, and they are fine now. They say to trim as far down as possible to help support new growth.

Caleb

Yeah, my sword melted almost completely away when I first got it. It's growing slowly now, but getting new leaves that are about 5 inches long now. When I got it, it was about 15 inches tall! So, bummer when it melted. But at least it didn't die.

Yeah, my sword melted almost completely away when I first got it. It's growing slowly now, but getting new leaves that are about 5 inches long now. When I got it, it was about 15 inches tall! So, bummer when it melted. But at least it didn't die.