Test kits

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pltrbill

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello.
I'm new to this hobby but have learned a lot from reading this forum.

I pretty much know ( :eyes: ) the cycling process.

I am buying a Wally world 10 gal delux tank and will give the fishless cycle a shot.

I will obviously need a test kit of some sort. I was reading a thread that said the test strip type is not too accurate. Is this true?

If so, what do YOU use. I searched for the electronic types.....but......I'm not about to spend 1 to $250 on one of those.

So, what works that doesn't cost a fortune?

Plans:
Freshwater/ fake plants(no live plants...yet) / rock and decorations for hiding/ water temp of about 78*/ small Air pump.
Stock:
2 or three Fancy Guppies, Male Beta. When needed down the road a sucker fish (can NEVER spell it) 1 African Algae eater (bottom feeder) .

Order an Aquarium Pharmacueticals Master liquid freshwater test kit. make sure you are getting the one with pH, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate tests. Costs about 15 bucks online, about 25 at the lfs. There are reviews in the product review section.

I use it too, but mine didn't have nitrate... so I bought one seperately. .... they must have changed the kit because I got a GH and KH but I looked online at my supplier and it seems nitrate is now included and GH and KH aren't.......

Next time I'll go with the Hagen kit, but it has extra stuff that I'd hardly use... and without plants you would probably not use them at all.

Thanks for the pointer to Hagen... I'm also looking to replace my AP test kits since they've passed the expiration date. I have a planted tank so I'll look at the Hagen kit.