Test kits: API vs SeaChem vs RedSea

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dmolavi

Aquarium Advice Addict
I currently use API kits for my testing, primarily due to ease of purchase, but am about to restock a few of the tests, and was wondering if folks had any experience with or preference for SeaChem's kits or those from RedSea.

I am using API liquid master and it works really well for me. I have no experience with the others, sorry. Hopefully someone on here can help. I do know SeaChem is a great company.

I've only used the API brand, and since it's worked so well for me, I haven't needed to try anything else. FWIW, my LFS uses and sells seachem's test kits, and they swear by them.

The RedSea kits are really expensive, I doubt for the home aquarist they are worth the money, but I've only had experience with API, Tetra-Test and Hagen Kits. I like API hands-down over the other two. However, I'm a big fan of Seachem and if the price wasn't too much more I would give them a shot for sure. The API Nitrate kit is a bit of a pain, perhaps getting the Seachem Nitrate kit, and possibly their pH kit might be the way to go since those are the two API kits I (and others I've heard) have the least satisfaction with.

The RedSea kits are really expensive, I doubt for the home aquarist they are worth the money, but I've only had experience with API, Tetra-Test and Hagen Kits. I like API hands-down over the other two. However, I'm a big fan of Seachem and if the price wasn't too much more I would give them a shot for sure. The API Nitrate kit is a bit of a pain, perhaps getting the Seachem Nitrate kit, and possibly their pH kit might be the way to go since those are the two API kits I (and others I've heard) have the least satisfaction with.