Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-28-2008, 11:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 448
"The River Tank" setup

I was just reading about a tank set up that attempts to recreate a river style water flow throughout the tank. Apparently it involves using powerheads at one end of a fairly long tank and then intake sponge filters at the other end which are connected to the powerheads via pvc tubing. This would create uni-directional water flow. How cool! Has anyone tried this?
__________________

__________________
acct closed at member request 10.04.2009

pw changed
Phoenixphire55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 12:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pitt420dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh! Home of the 6 Time Superbowl Champs!
Posts: 1,048
Send a message via AIM to pitt420dude
No I havent tried it but it sounds super cool. That would be awesome really. You wouldn't want to get angels, or any other fish that don't enjoy a heavy flow.

I would LOVE to see a real long tank with very fast watermovement stocked with fish that really like fast moving water. That would be awesome.
__________________

__________________
Thank you so much for all your help. I'm back into the hobby with a new vigor!

LOOK! A NEW LEAF!!!!!
pitt420dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 02:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Parrish, FL
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to chimmike
Add rocks in for the fish to rest, like a rocky mountain stream or something.......that's a really cool idea!
__________________
chimmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 02:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: nc
Posts: 126
Remember that power heads raise the water temperature, especially in tanks under 55 gallons. If you're keeping fish lat like cooler water or if the ambiant temp is warm they're not a great idea.

I've seen HOB filters adjusted to make river tanks. I'll look for the link and post it later.
__________________
p3purr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 03:04 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pitt420dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh! Home of the 6 Time Superbowl Champs!
Posts: 1,048
Send a message via AIM to pitt420dude
Yeah please do, I'd like to check em out.

My local Zoo (Pittsburgh) has something similar. I love going there, they have AMAZING tanks.
__________________
Thank you so much for all your help. I'm back into the hobby with a new vigor!

LOOK! A NEW LEAF!!!!!
pitt420dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 09:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 100
Could a river be simulated with a series of custom long tanks along a wall, each tank an inch or so lower than the preceding tank. 5 tanks butting against each other with a total drop of 5 inches and a loooooong return line from the last to the first (something like a gutter).
imagine the waterfall pieces on yard ponds as 20gallon long tanks . . .
__________________
tomherndon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 10:12 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
I've read about this type of setup before and would love to give it a try some day for Hillstream Loaches.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 09:09 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 448
I didn't know powerheads raised the water temperature. Do you think it would be a problem in a 50 long? I would think that most coldwater fish would be fine if they are naturally from fast moving waters, because coldwater fish have a higher oxygen demand, but a river setup would create so much turbulence that the water would be really oxygenated. Would goldfish be good for a river tank? Maybe a a river setup on the slower side, like one powerhead instead of two or three for the faster river setup.
__________________
acct closed at member request 10.04.2009

pw changed
Phoenixphire55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 01:26 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: nc
Posts: 126
Grumble, I wrote a detailed post and lost it when I hit the quote button in another post. Sigh.

For now here's the link about setting up a riffle tank with a HOB filter.
__________________

__________________
p3purr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
river, setup, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Duckweed" (Lemna Minor) and "Water Spangles" (Salvinia Minima) floating plants jackdaniel Archive 3 09-28-2009 10:16 AM
The "top" of my 2ft tank needs "fixing" marchmaxima Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 23 03-27-2008 09:57 AM
"Amazonian River tank" Phoenixphire55 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 03-06-2008 01:29 PM
Is "River Water" better? renosteinke Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 42 03-07-2007 02:35 PM
"Thread" "worms" What's in my 10gal tank HouseDragon Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 10-06-2006 03:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×