Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-05-2014, 08:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 572
Thoughts on using AC drip water in aquarium

Has anybody thought about using AC drip water in fish tanks for top ups and small decon water changes? My primary thoughts here are over lead, but if it's there, my test kit isn't finding it. Obviously since this is distilled water, it will hays to be reconstituted before using much.

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
lectraplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 10:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
AC as in from an air conditioner ?
__________________

__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 11:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SW Suburban Chicago, IL
Posts: 203
Compressor coils are typically copper I believe, so the condensate could have copper salts in it as the moisture condenses out.
__________________
jglover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 11:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by jglover View Post
Compressor coils are typically copper I believe, so the condensate could have copper salts in it as the moisture condenses out.
+1 Copper is the worry here rather than lead.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 11:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 572
Yes, mine can extract enough water from the air to empty and refill all my tanks and still leave my yard a mud hole. Part of living in the Dirty South. What else besides dihidrogen monoxide would I be likely to find in the runoff from an air conditioner?

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Tapatalk
__________________
lectraplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 11:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
treemanone2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bridgeport, Ct.
Posts: 2,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by jglover View Post
Compressor coils are typically copper I believe, so the condensate could have copper salts in it as the moisture condenses out.

That's were I was going !!!
__________________
treemanone2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:27 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SW Suburban Chicago, IL
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by lectraplayer View Post
Yes, mine can extract enough water from the air to empty and refill all my tanks and still leave my yard a mud hole. Part of living in the Dirty South. What else besides dihidrogen monoxide would I be likely to find in the runoff from an air conditioner?

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Tapatalk
Well, I'd guess some blue vitriol, tenorite, cuprite and other dissolved compounds. Likely also to have some hematite salts and maybe some ferrous oxide, as well as other corrosion by-products. Depending on the construction of the housing, dissolved alumina as well as any other alloy corrosion by-products (all trace amounts likely) of the housing. Condensors are also open to the elements on central AC units so any compounds present in your rainwater will settle inside the unit and could possibly be seen as trace contaminants.

The compressor coils would likely be soldered but typically that would an argent based solder I believe, so possible trace amounts of that as well.

You will have some heavy metals in there mostly, and even in trace amounts, certain heavy metals are quite toxic to aquatic life. The pH may also be a concern, as could the TDS loading in condensate.

To me, it would not be worth the risk but I keep some invertebrates in my tanks, so nay copper is bad news.
__________________

__________________
jglover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium, ate, drip, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts on AC drip water lectraplayer General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 06-07-2014 07:34 PM
Any thoughts about using a biocube for freshwater? maxwellag Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 10-09-2011 02:38 PM
Thoughts on using Flourish and Flourish Excel during fishless cycle? Mog Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-18-2011 10:05 AM
Small Aquarium using pond water balance. Your thoughts? pirahna dave Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 04-08-2011 01:01 AM
"Drip" syphon used for Auto top off, thoughts? JamesR Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 10-25-2004 01:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.