Tiger Barbs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bamadude91

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys. I'm new to the forum.
I'm a newbie to the aquarium hobby. I fell in love with the Tiger Barb, and despite their reputation as bullies, I decided to have these guys cycle my tank. (The store employee almost talked me into a school of Neon Tetras, but I just HAD to have the Tiger Barbs) I made the right decision. These guys have SO much personality, it's unreal! I currently have 2 Tiger Barbs, 1 Green Tiger Barb, and 1 Albino Tiger Barb.
I'm almost certain the albino barb is female, as she lacks any red coloration, basically. I just love the brilliance in color of the males, so the 3 fish I got today at the pet store were males. (the 2 tiger barbs and green barb). They are all fully grown adults.
I'm not having an behavior issues with the males. They are incredibly docile. The female's behavior has me worried. I've been reading that it is apparently common for the 'nose down' posture as a sign of submission. And I know Tiger Barbs rest in a downward tilt.
This is all she's doing. She's eating. She'll swim with the others. I'm just worried that she's stressed, or perhaps worse. Will this subside with time? It's not the most aesthetically pleasing posture. A quick glance and you think she's sick.
In the next week or so, I intend on adding one more Tiger Barb for a total of five, as five is normally the magic number given to 'cure' Tiger Barb nipping behavior. Do I need to add another female? Make it an all male group? Any tips would be appreciated.
~Austin

:welcome: to AA! (y)
There are articles about a fish in cycle you'll want to read to help you while your cycling. How large is the tank? TB's are pretty hardy fish, however also read up on fish less cycling for future reference.