Time ????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Steven A

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am still at secondary school at the moment and i am in my last year. I am about to sit my final exams! 8O I want to know the easiest way to clean fish out and the quickest. Is it easy to maintain a tank with no gravel or anything just the bottom(glass). And only including the objects wich are needed, for the breeders and fry.

Please leave your sugestions as i was even thinking about selling all my tanks and fish :oops: :oops: :oops: :x :x But i really dont want to. :eek:

Yes it is much easier to maintain a tank with no substrate, infact it is recommended for some particularily messy fish such as Oscars. Most breeders seem to use substrate less tanks, no my taste but it could be the way to go.

I dunno. Substrate houses alot of beneficial bacteria, Food for bottom feeders, and anchors for plants. Cleaning a tank is fast. Takes me about 20 minutes to clean my 55 gallon tank, and fill it back up, and that's with vaccuming the gravel.

How many tanks do you have? If you're concerned about not having time to feed the fish and do PWCs, I'd agree with Toirtis and recommend you ask a family member for help. Sign your parents up for a week or two each "for the sake of your education". :mrgreen: It's been eons since my 'O'-levels, but I remember how stressful it was. All the best to you!!!