Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-21-2003, 11:48 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 114
transferring to larger tank?

I've got a friend selling me his 20 gallon, so I'm moving all my 10 gallon over. I've got

1 African Dwarf Frog
1 Cory Dora
1 Clown Pleco
4 Neon Tetras
3 Black Skirt Tetras

Overstocked, I know. I plan on making this a planted tank by the way. So as not to lose any fish, Any suggestions on what to do or what not to do.

__________________

__________________
Scott

Esspresso! Breakfast of Champions.
Scott1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 12:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via ICQ to ferret Send a message via AIM to ferret
Move your 10 gallon filter onto the 20 to help handle the initial bioload. This should stop you from having any cycling issues. Otherwise, match the tanks temperature wise, then do the normal "New fish" routine. Bag 'em up, acclimate, and dump 'em in
__________________

__________________
Gamer? Like Counter-strike, World of Warcraft, or just games in general? Visit http://www.gamehavoc.com/
ferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 12:06 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
If you move everything from your 10 over to the 20, gravel and decorations, filter and all, you should be in good shape. Then in a couple of weeks you can take the filter from the 10 off the 20 (assuming it has its own filter) and go on about your business! The 20 will house your fishy family much better, and now you can get a few more cory cats, since they really prefer to be in a school, and will be happier that way.

Congrats!
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 12:13 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,889
If you make up the new, 20 gallon tank water just like you do the 10 gallon tank water, then all you have to acclimate for is temperature, right? If you have 2 heaters, could you just move them over to the 20 gallon when the temps match? Sorry to stick my own question in here.
__________________
An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 01:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 114
Actaully, I'm not using the same gravel I'm going to put the eco complete in, becuase I want to have live plants. A guy at the lfs said that eco complete is good to for the transfer because of all the good bacteria it contains, I guess it helps prevent new tank syndrome or something.

__________________
Scott

Esspresso! Breakfast of Champions.
Scott1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 02:34 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Quote:
I'm going to put the eco complete in, becuase I want to have live plants.
I have heard good things about that stuff, so let us know how it does for you. In that case, put your old gravel in some panty hose legs (or knee highs) so that it is still in there but it won't get mixed in with your new stuff. After the transition period you can remove it. It will look like crap for a while, but it will help a lot.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 03:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1,257
When I set up my 10g I put water from my 38g and then I put a filter into the tank (not in the filter) from my 38g and the tank was basically insta-cycled. I've never had any problems in it.
__________________
Holly ~

I love the fishes cause they're so delicious.
Sati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 11:11 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Quote:
When I set up my 10g I put water from my 38g and then I put a filter into the tank (not in the filter) from my 38g and the tank was basically insta-cycled.
That is the great thing about having multiple tanks - you have your own culture of Bio-Spira on hand at all times! Seeding is definitely the cheapest and easiest thing to do, and almost always works. When I recently added some fish to an already cycled tank, it was just a few more fish than the bioload could handle and I was registering a tiny amount of ammonia. I popped a couple of rocks and about a cup of gravel from another tank into it, and no more ammonia.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 05:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
Hey Scott, The best deal I found on Eco-Complete is $17.99 for a 20lb bag at www.drsfostersmith.com .
__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2003, 04:55 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CA USA
Posts: 97
I'd use BIO-Spira
That stuff really works!
__________________

__________________
-Jimmy
AG 72 gal bowfront complete set: 8 goldies [filter: 2 Emp 400]
TopFin 20 gal kit: 6 neon tetra, 1 marble angel, 2 mollies, 4 guppies, 3 zebra danios
*QT* 3 goldies
Pond - 1100 gals approx. [in progress]
robotcholi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, transfer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with transferring fish to bigger tank lyndonmsp Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 08-11-2009 03:13 AM
Transferring to a new tank... noteworthy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-21-2006 09:56 PM
transferring my 40 gallon into a larger tank- I need help dingogirl66 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 08-15-2005 05:06 PM
help with transferring sand to new tank.... rgmatzke Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 07-23-2004 05:32 PM
Transferring Fish to new Larger Tank pdade Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 07-01-2002 02:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.