Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-19-2003, 06:59 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 10
upgrading tank

We have bought a 180l tank to replace our 70l tank. Can we do anything to speed up the cycle of the new tank by using gravel, filters,water from our old tank? We have added "cycle" but after reading lots of reports this doesn't seem to work too well.
__________________

__________________
plags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 08:36 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,444
Move all of the the old stuff to the new tank and it will kick start the cycle. The old tank water shouldn't be used as very little bacteria is free floating. Using the old filter is a great idea. I assume you will getting a bigger filter system for the new tank so I would run both at the same time. Still you will have to test the water and do frequent water changes while things balance out. Good luck.
__________________

__________________
tkos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 08:42 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 10
what do i do with my fish ? both are jewel systems and so filters are same for both so thats not a problem. Have real plants both new and old tank. Thanks for help
__________________
plags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 10:07 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sutton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 263
Hi Plags,
what do you mean by jewel systems?

Your water volume is almost tripling in the new tank, so a filter that was able to handel a 70l tank than will not have the capacity to move enough water for a 180l.
Unless your 70l was over filtered(if that is possible).

If you need to keep both tanks running for a while, taking some of the substrate from the old to the new will speed things up, as would taking some of the bio portion of the old filter to the new filter.

You would need some cycling fish(I use swordtails and guppies) in the new tank to provide feed for the bacteria to keep it alive and growing.
__________________
Vote
Here for Aqurium Advice


- - Aquipment --
010gal Glass Tank-QT/Hospital
015gal Glass Tank-Partitioned Fish Jail
33gal Glass Tank-South American Cichlids {Angels)
120gal Glass Tank-Mixed Malawi Rift
small Koi/goldfish pond
peterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 10:11 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 10
i mean i can use one of the filter pads from the old system into the new system as they are both same make of aquarium. obviously the new tank filter is stronger but the filter pads are the same if you see what i mean. I have 3 mollies in there to cycle tank
__________________
plags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 10:16 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,536
If the filter media fits in both systems, just use the old filter media in the new filter. If not, run both filters on the new tank for a couple of weeks to let the new media get colonised as tkos suggested.

I'm guessing you are moving everyone and everything into the new tank. If so, set up the tank with the old decor, fresh treated water, heater, old gravel (carefully pull it out of the old tank; maybe using a net to take it out?). Give it a few hours for things to settle (the gravel will likely cloud the water a bit sinces its full of stuff) and the heater to bring the new tank temps up to speed, pop the filters on and add the fish.

Double check your water parameters frequently; chances are since the bacterial colonies are the right size to deal with the number of fish you have, and you are moving most of the colony, you will most likely not see any ammonia or nitrite spikes. Better to be safe tho.
__________________
aka Cycling Guru and the Ich Slayer

*glares at Terry and QTOFFER*

Card carrying member of FTAS & GCAS.
Allivymar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 11:00 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 10
Yes plants, fish and rocks are all moving. However we were not going to put all the old gravel in as we wanted to use medium gravel this time instead of fine. saying this we would be able add some of it. so would it be ok then to put filter pads in from old tank, some gravel and then move everything over in one go if we closely monitored the levels and did frequent water changes.

My fish are............2 dwarf gouramis, 3 neon tetra, 3 balloon mollies,3 Harlequin Rasbora, 2 swordtails+baby, silver shark and pl*c.
Any ideas on additions to these in the future when the new tank is established? What about a pair of Angels?
__________________
plags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 11:12 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sutton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 263
I think (them who know more correct me ) just bagging some of the old gravel in a net bag(s) and putting it in the new tank would work and would let you remove them when the new tank it up and running.
__________________
Vote
Here for Aqurium Advice


- - Aquipment --
010gal Glass Tank-QT/Hospital
015gal Glass Tank-Partitioned Fish Jail
33gal Glass Tank-South American Cichlids {Angels)
120gal Glass Tank-Mixed Malawi Rift
small Koi/goldfish pond
peterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 11:16 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,536
PeterP addressed the gravel issue well I concur.

You may be able to add a pair of angels to the tank, but that will pretty much top out your bio-load. You've got some fish in there who may outgrow that size tank as is. What sort of plec is it? If its a common plec, he's gonna get to be 1-2 feet long full grown, and add LOTS of waste. Too big for a 170L, especially with all the other fish in there.
__________________
aka Cycling Guru and the Ich Slayer

*glares at Terry and QTOFFER*

Card carrying member of FTAS & GCAS.
Allivymar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 11:23 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,444
The silver shark is going to get too big for that tank. But if I were you I would add a whole bunch more neon tetras. A big school is great. And more rasboras. Those are both schooling fish that really display better in larger groups.
__________________

__________________
tkos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, upgrading, upgrading tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading tank smnw10 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-20-2008 10:01 AM
Upgrading my tank! fishfairy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 07-07-2006 04:47 PM
upgrading tank murcos General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-22-2006 11:06 AM
Upgrading tank? drillsar Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-21-2006 02:43 AM
Help with upgrading tank bckane Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-02-2005 09:18 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.