Using fish to cycle a tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cinder

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ok - I realize that I'm new to this particular site but it has shocked me to see that people very seldom tell newbies that cycling with fish is cruel and shouldn't be done. (It's not Ok to expect fish to die so someone can cycle their tank.) The fish should be taken back to the store and the cycle done without them. Then - after around a month or so when the cycle is 100% completed fish can be added to a ready to live in tank. How can people learn this and spread the word if the experienced aquarists don't come right out and say it? How many fish have to die because people don't know this (the LFS isn't likely to tell them) and we don't explain it to them?

Actually, the fishless cycle method is highly pushed on this site. I don't know of anyone who pushes to cycle with fish.

And sometimes, people buy fish before they realize what's involved with cycling a tank and by then, it's too late. It's nice to THINK that you can just take a fish back to the store, but there are MANY stores out there that won't take fish back just because of ignorance.

In that case, it is the responsibility of experienced aquarists to help the person get the tank cycled with as little fish death as possible. The world is not perfect and people just have to do the best they can with what they have. JMO.

Agreed crazyred - people buy fish because they don't know better. I expect that is usually the case (I was one of them when I started). And, you're right, some fish stores won't take fish back because of ignorance.