Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-31-2017, 09:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 4
Want to switch to a bigger tank, have ?

I have a 10 gallon tank, and I've been happy with it, but I want to move up to a bigger one. I'm looking at a 29 gallon, and I only have room for one tank.

Here comes the question, can I drain half of my current tank into the new one, put my fish in the new tank, then add the rest of the water from the old tank, followed by fresh water to top it off? Wouldn't the be almost just like doing a water change?

My plan for the filter is to run my old ondersized one, in tandem with a new one of the correct size for about a month, for bacteria purposes. Does that sound safe?

Thanks for the help!
__________________

__________________
Poneill272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 10:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poneill272 View Post
Here comes the question, can I drain half of my current tank into the new one, put my fish in the new tank, then add the rest of the water from the old tank, followed by fresh water to top it off?
Yes. In addition to that do regular large water changes leading up to the transition so your tank water is close to tap water.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poneill272 View Post
My plan for the filter is to run my old ondersized one, in tandem with a new one of the correct size for about a month, for bacteria purposes. Does that sound safe?
Yes.

There may be more options depending on what the new filter is. Which model are you planning on?
__________________

__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 10:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,257
Plan sounds fine. You did not mention moving the substrate, which will most likely be a messy adventure. The fish don't have to go into the new tank necessarily; they can go into a holding bucket while you fill the new tank. Otherwise, dealing with fish swimming around while you are (re) setting it up can be stressful to them.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
big, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To switch or not to switch Chels10117 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-27-2015 05:41 PM
Want to switch from HOB to Canister filter..have some Qs spm2600 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 04-19-2015 09:56 PM
Want To Switch My Tank Theme Incogneto21 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 02-25-2014 06:01 PM
Want to switch to a planted tank Pete w Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 08-25-2013 07:00 PM
Please Help Want a Bigger Tank. Ahmed dada Aquaria Off-Topic 15 12-26-2011 03:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.