Water care

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Speed

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey everyone, I'm a new freshwater hobbyist. Currently using a 20 & a 40 gal tanks, soon upgrading to 75 gal. We have city water that taste funny & has a lot of calcium/minerals in it that's turning the top glass all white & can't seem to get it off. I'm trying to stick the tank, but seems for about every 3rd or 4th fish we buy, one dies. I do 20-30% weekly water changes, feed twice a day, lights on 8 hrs a day. Water seems to stay cloudy looking, fish randomly die & water deposit build-up on top. Please help. Any suggestions ?

I'm getting test strips later today, but never have used them. We've had several die, but we've had the tanks for several months & the majority of them do fine. Some just dnt make it long. Thought as long as it was changed weekly, that kept all in control.

Haven't cycled the tank & had it for about a month now. Currently holding about 11 fish. Bought a new clown & he died 2 days later. Got a gold goumari & he lasted a few days. Hoping the test strips will fix the problem. Dnt understand why all the others are doing ok though. If the strips show something isn't right in levels, I wldnt know how to correct them.

And have you changed any filter media recently?
Cloudiness (milky) usually suggests a bacterial bloom. They are most common in cycling, unstable tanks. The white build up is just hard water stains. I get them on all my tanks also. Water hardness is usually not an issue unless you are keeping sensitive fish.