Water changes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Plecos4596

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm very new to the whole fish thing why do people do water changes?

To keep nitrates in check. That's the compound that isn't broken down further in the aquarium. You want them as low as possible or between 10 and 20 ppm for a planted aquarium. I myself do at a 20% change weekly. It's critical for the long term success of your aquarium. Most of us recommend the API liquid test kit to check ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, ph etc... Hope that helps.

Water changes are the absolute best thing you can do for your charges. In an aquarium setting, fish live within its own waste. Thus, the water eventually becomes toxic to them. Luckily, there are different bacteria that convert fish waste into a nitrogen that can be removed by doing water changes. If you have live plants, the plants can help remove the nitrogen compounds as well. Water changes also gets rid of other nasties too.

Adding new water will also reconstitute minerals as well. Make sure the new water's pH and temperature match the old water as closely as possible.

I do 50% water changes on my tanks every week, and I actually enjoy doing it.

David

I'm right there with David on this one -- I have learned to enjoy doing my 50% water changes on my 60 gallon goldfish tank, even though I still do them the old fashioned way by syphoning the tank water into five gallon buckets and dumping those one at a time...:banghead::banghead: