Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-22-2005, 09:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,472
water changes: how do u make the new water the same temp?

I was wondering...

aquarists say to have the 'new water' the SAME temp as the tank water.

How do u do this ??

do i have to buy another heater and thermometer for doing water changes too??
__________________

__________________
Bubble_B0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 09:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 601
Send a message via AIM to PsiPro Send a message via MSN to PsiPro
I just guess at it... but i have yet to get it right.
__________________

__________________
PsiPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 09:22 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
It's not really as hard to do as it seems. If you are using buckets, it easier. A thermometer placed in the bucket while filling will suffice.

If you are using a python, it's a little trickier. Before closing the valve attached to the faucet to allow the water to flow, hold the thermometer under it until you get a temp match.

Over time, you will be able to judge by touch.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 09:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
Since I am only changing around 25%, I fill it back up with a little bit colder water. Guppys and Amano Shrimp for example love that. They swim directly into the cool stream !
__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 09:50 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Triad, North Carolina
Posts: 587
I use a Python, my tap comes out at 75 degrees, my tank is set to 78, so I just refill from the tap as low as it will go.

Dave
__________________
10 gal planted with 1 male betta. Mostly anacharis.
29 gal planted community 1.9 wpg
90 gal planted community 2.9 wpg
Xzap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 09:52 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
with most fish, a few degrees isn't a huge stress on their system, and the existing water in the tank will even things out a little, especially if you do more 25% sized w/c.

anything over 50%, and you should try to get close. having a digital thermometer (like the Coralife one) works great because you can get a reading in seconds, and its more accurate than the glass bulb thermometers.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 07:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Over time you just get used to the temp as JC said. I use a python as well and I can tell by touch.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 07:48 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BrianNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 4,535
Agreed with most of what has been said. You don't need to make this an exact science. After a while you'll get a feel by touch of what is right. A few degrees in either direction won't stress your fish at all. If I err, I try to do it on the warmer side.
__________________
BrianNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 11:00 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 248
I have a water softner so I have to use really cold water so it isn't soft. I usaully just let it sit overnight to warm up and it is pretty close and I just dump it in its not a major temp drop just like 1or2 degrees and my fish have been fine over the years.
Good Luck
__________________
Aquarium Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 11:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,472
what about the heater ???
i'm scared the temperature change may crack the heater ??
__________________

__________________
Bubble_B0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water problems? Had some death(s) --- and water temp 75galsalt Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 13 06-17-2006 01:57 PM
Water temp. bosk1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-14-2005 09:50 PM
water temp kmlong Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-04-2004 01:20 PM
water temp rbarb1111 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-01-2004 02:06 PM
Water temp Dewey Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 09-07-2003 06:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.