water changes need help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zach_1_6

Aquarium Advice FINatic
hi there, this is going to sound bad on my part. but i have been in the hobby for 4 years now, and i have never done a water change in my life. all my fish were perfectly healthy, none died, i have 2, 5 year old tetra. but now im loosing fish in my relativly new 65 gallon tank. i think it is from not doing water changes, and my parameters might be bad. i have also never tested for amonnia, nitrate, and nitrite in my life. so im new to all this and i dont want any more fish dying, how do i do a water change? and what should my tests read? thanks

Ammonia and nitrite should be 0. Nitrates can be 0-40. Just drain 50% of the tank's water and add in whatever amount of dechlor you need to dose the WHOLE volume of the tank. Then just add the water back in. Make sure the water you add approximates the temperature of your fish tank.

I suggest getting this : Walmart.com: Freshwater Master Test Kit: Fish that is a popular test kit on here. I have it. That is the cheapest I have seen it. I payed 30$ for mine. But it lasts a long time. And is much more accurate than test strips(which also end up being more expensive in the long run).

Anyways, you test your water with that. +1 to Crepe. Read this link, it will explain everything you need to know about that. http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...-but-i-already-have-fish-what-now-116287.html

Also, to do a water change all you need is a gravel vacuum.

There is a video somewhere in this thread that shows you how to do the water change. It helped me a ton . http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f15/water-changes-a-pita-129667.html