Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-12-2012, 08:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
red_tide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Water Clarity Problem

I recently switched my substrate from gravel to sand, and since then, I've had cloudy water. I've tried ~20% water changes and Accu Clear to clear the water up, and nothing is really helping. Any ideas on why the water is so cloudy, and what I can do to clear it up? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
red_tide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
stan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Nor Cal Foothills
Posts: 23
Did you rinse the sand before you put it in your tank? I rinsed mine in a bucket over and over until the water in the bucket was clear. Then no cloudy water in the tank.
__________________

__________________
stan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Do u have any btm dwellers stirring it up?
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:38 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
red_tide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
No. I did not rinse the sand. I realized my mistake a bit too late, but now I'm wondering what to do. Taking the sand back out I don't think would help, and have done a number of water changes which are not helping much. Not sure what to do now.
__________________
red_tide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Do u have it stocked? Just let it settle down on its own is all I know.
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
red_tide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Yes it is stocked, and yes there are a few bottom feeders however I dont think that they are stirring up the sand. Any sand that does get mixed up usually settles pretty quickly. I guess I'll just give it time and see whats happens, and just keeping doing regular water changes.
__________________
red_tide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 05:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
cerulean_blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 144
I sort of ran into the same problem. I'm starting up a new cichlid tank and I forgot to wash the sand before putting it in. Right now I have very clear water and it's in the process of cycling (only gold fish in there now). I recommend...
1. take out the fish and put in another tank if possible
2. stir up the sand like your cleaning it with your hands
3. Do large PWC, almost 75%
4. Do this for about 4 days in a row
5. The Cichlid substrate I bought came with this product in a little package that helps clear up the water, but I forget what it's called. That seemed to help alot. Sorry I forget the name, something like bio-gel or what not :/
6. Cycle the tank
__________________
cerulean_blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 11:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
red_tide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 12
Cool thanks. Think I'll try that this week. I do have a smaller tank to put the fish in temporarily but not big enough to let the other tank cycle. I'll have to see what I can come up with.
__________________
red_tide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 01:00 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
cerulean_blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 144
I cannot find the name of that clarifier product, but if you go to your local petsmart, and check out the bag of sand: "CaribSea Aquarium Substrates: African Cichlid mix". Look at the directions in the back and it mentions the product that helps clear up the cloudy sand water. Than maybe you can find it sold separately somewhere

(also clean the filter after you do the water changes to remove the cloudy stuff)

Good luck!
__________________
cerulean_blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 02:03 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Alyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slidell, La
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via AIM to Alyxx Send a message via Skype™ to Alyxx
Sounds like good advice as far as stirring up the sand and then doing a massive water change. Just be sure to turn your filter off while you do it! Sand in your impellers can be a death sentence for a filter, I think that's what killed my last one, actually. Oh well, it gave me an excuse to upgrade. Turn your filter back on once the bigger particles settle but before the fine stuff does, although hopefully you'll get most of the fine particles with the water changes. Good luck!
__________________
Alyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 11:34 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alyxx
Sounds like good advice as far as stirring up the sand and then doing a massive water change. Just be sure to turn your filter off while you do it! Sand in your impellers can be a death sentence for a filter, I think that's what killed my last one, actually. Oh well, it gave me an excuse to upgrade. Turn your filter back on once the bigger particles settle but before the fine stuff does, although hopefully you'll get most of the fine particles with the water changes. Good luck!
I use a cut piece of panty hose on my strainer to avoid ruining my filter
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:34 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Alyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slidell, La
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via AIM to Alyxx Send a message via Skype™ to Alyxx
Quote:
Originally Posted by boadams87

I use a cut piece of panty hose on my strainer to avoid ruining my filter
Good idea! I'm pretty sure I have a pair with runs in it somewhere that I could use. I'd much rather put it to use in my tank than wear them, haha.
__________________
Alyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:40 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alyxx

Good idea! I'm pretty sure I have a pair with runs in it somewhere that I could use. I'd much rather put it to use in my tank than wear them, haha.
Lmao. Alot of us use it
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 07:03 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Alyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slidell, La
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via AIM to Alyxx Send a message via Skype™ to Alyxx
I've used it to protect fry before myself. Works way better than cheesecloth, which I have used as well. Just didn't think about using it to protect the filter from sand.
__________________

__________________
Alyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clarity

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to aquariums and have some cycling questions: Chirp Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 02-08-2012 07:40 PM
Water change in 6g Smartiepants Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 12-06-2011 06:35 PM
water clarity problems pdw1731 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 10-14-2011 10:36 AM
Cloudy ammonia water. I NEED HELP! ): TlmAsj2910 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 3 10-09-2011 01:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×