Water conditioner disaster.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fullmoonnight

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I bought a new water conditioner with nitraban (it's tetraaqua) I normally use the one without nitraban that says it's compatible for saltwater and freshwater. I've been using the new one with nitraban for all my tanks the past week but today I changed my goldfish water and disaster has struck. I've lost 2 fish and I'm trying my best to save the rest. Does anyone know why this is?

-edit- 3 by the time I posted this :( this last one was a small fantail and it's stomach looks awfully bloated. I don't know what's going on. This stuff worked fine for all my tropical fish.

-edit- 4 now. The rest of the fish are becoming more stable though.

I have no experience with that brand. Have you tried Prime? It stinks but it works really well and can be used more concentrated with no ill effects.
Good luck!

I have no experience with that brand. Have you tried Prime? It stinks but it works really well and can be used more concentrated with no ill effects.
Good luck!

No I haven't but it sounds good. I'll look into it.

Oh god, 5 now. The horror won't stop... :( :bawl: I don't think I'll be getting much sleep tonight.

So sorry for your losses! I've never used that type of water conditioner before however I can say that my friend recently lost his entire tank from bad water conditioner. I'll have to see what kind he used maybe it had the same stuff in it

I have doubts that the water conditioner harmed your fish. I've never head of what you are using, but still, I would say you have something else going on.

What are your parameters?

Ammonia?
Nitrite?
Nitrate?
pH?

What size tank/filtration/stock do you have?