water problems help!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shannon m

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i am new to this. we have had our tank for 4 months and cannot get it right. I only have 4 fish left out of 15. I cannot keep the water clean,every water change i loose at least one fish,so im scared to do anything now. And My plants and glass have brown stuff on them now and i dont know how to keep it off. I've cleaned and cleaned. What should i do?

should I buy an algae eater to take care of this problem. Im pretty sure thats what the stuff is.

Welcome to AA Shannon. We will need some info from you to tackle the problems. How big is your tank? Did you start out with 15 fish or cycle it first? What are your water parameters? Do you use declor when doing water changes? How much and how often do you do water changes.

29 gal started with the fish. That is what the lfs said. The tank ran for 2 wks before adding them. We use the declor and we have been doing changes every 2 wks here lately. I don't have a test kit right now, but when we take it to the lfs the nitrates are always high. that is all they tell me. Everytime i change the water at least one fish dies.Are they suppose to be taken out before the change or what? I know I'm doing something wrong!!! It breaks my heart to see them suffer. Which they are fine at the moment .

Shannon I know exaclty what you are going through. I went through the same thing when I got my first tank. Everytime I did a water change, I lost fish. It may seem like a hassle but you may want to take your fish out of the tank when you change the water. We do that because we have a gravel vac that looks up to the garden hose (it won't fit on the kitchen sink faucet) and we run the water straight from the hose into the tank and it isn't conditioned yet and plus it tends to be quite a bit colder.