weird algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

QTOFFER

Aquarium Advice Addict
My 29 gal, and ONLY my 29 gal, has been plagued with a weird algae.
I've been battling it for several months now. I think it came in on a piece of store-bought driftwood.

It grows in a thick sheet that covers everything - back glass, filter intake/output, substrate, driftwood, rocks, and plants. I've since removed the driftwood and rocks.

Before you all say bluegreen algae, consider this:

It's dark purplish brown,
It doesn't smell at all,
It has a smooth rubbery velvety feel to it
It rubs off (in sheets) from plants and surfaces
There are no bubbles and it only grows only on flat smoooth surfaces
It doesn't grow fast - takes two weeks to recover cleaned surfaces
Five day blackouts have no effect on it except to slow its growth
It's not diatoms - at least not like any I've seen

I've had a big die-off in this tank in the last few months (5 tiger barbs, 4 rasboras, and 4 cory cats have mysteriously went missing). Not sure if this is related to the algae.

This week, I rinsed the filter media thoroughly in tank water (from an unaffected tank) and did three 100% water changes with thorough gravel vacs. I rubbed off as much as I could from the plants and severely pruned them.

I would rather not tear down the tank and nuke it with bleach, but that's my next course of action if this crap returns. Any insights or ideas?

Tank info: 29 gal with very light bioload (3 tiger barbs, 2 brilliant rasboras, 2 cory cats)
Water parameters (0 NH3, 0 NO2, 15ppm NO3, pH 6.7) My water is extremely soft.
I have 1.2 WPG NO fluorescent lighting running 8 hours/day. Plants include Amazon swords and a couple of Java fern species. I don't fertilize this tank at all. 50% water changes are done every two weeks.