WH0TH3MAN's Freshwater Adventures

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WH0TH3MAN

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Welcome to my freshwater adventure thread! I am new to the hobby and decided that I would start a thread looking at all the different things that I attempt. I like to research stuff, so don't be afraid to tell me to do that if I seem to needy :p This will aid in keeping information together for me and possibly help someone else. So let's get started! :)

SMALL SHRIMP TANK

I am trying to start cheap with a small shrimp tank (~1 gallon).

Here is what I'm thinking...

-1/2 inch dirt on the bottom
-1/4 inch fine aquarium gravel
-java fern
-another plant?
-ghost shrimp (maybe cherry? (I think the temp is too cold))

Questions:

-Does this setup seem okay? (Similar pH and temperature needs) (my house stays at about 68 Fahrenheit year round, so temp should be fine)

-Since I am using plants and low waste organisms (I think they are at least?), will I need to clean the tank often?

-will the ghost shrimp reproduce? I heard that you have to feed the larvae in order for them to actually survive, is this true?

-when they molt, do I need to take anything out of the water?

-I plan on getting a liquid test kit for ph, nitrites, nitrates, and ammonia. Any other things like this that I need to buy?

- anything else I need to research/ consider?

Thanks for your time! :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Will there be filtration/aeration in this tank?
What kind of plants were you thinking of using, aside from the Java Fern? The soil might not be necessary.
The temperature should be fine for RCS. As for ghost shrimp, some types will breed in FW, however, the life cycle is a bit more complicated compared to RCS (there is a free swimming, plankton eating stage).