What am I doing wrong with my cycling?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AmberW

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi All,

OK< I am doing a cycle with the fish in. I have a 15 gallon with two 1 inch cichlids. It has been 5 weeks now. My ammonia levels are staying at 0 and my nitirites keep rising. I check them daily and do almost daily water changes to keep them down. I let them get pretty high on Sunday since I was having a Super Bowl party and couldn't do a change. In turn, I changed the water three times on Monday. Now, even though I hae the nitirites down to zero my fish are still showing signs of stress. I can't figure out why. I have tested ph, ammonia, nitirites and nitrates. All are where they should be. What am I doing wrong? Is there anything tricky about the filter that I should know about?

One thing I wonder about, (forgive me, I am a novice at this) is the rocks I have in the tank. I got some flag stone at Lowes and some rocks for the woods to make caves for them. I scrubbed them down really well with water before I put them in the tank. Can they be causing a problem? What kind? If so, what is a better rock to choose?

Thank you for your help

Tank Cycling

Hi All,