What is the best place to buy fish?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ryorgason

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm almost ready to start stocking my aquarium, but I'm not sure where the best place to get fish is. I know it may be a matter of opinion, but I'm new to this so I thought I'd get other people's opinions first. Here are my options:

1. Small pet store in town. They have a limited stock of fish, but can order just about anything for me.

2. Drive 45 minutes to Petsmart, Walmart, or find another aquatics store somewhere, which would still be at least 30-45 minutes away.

3. Order some online. Any suggestions or links of good places to buy from?

I'll start the responses off, ryorgason.

1) Patronize your LFS if you approve of the way they keep their fish, and if the employees are helpful. If you see lots of dead fish in the tanks, or if the employees are particularly unpleasant, no reason to buy there. I generally buy at LFS-s where I feel they care for their fish and animals. Keep in mind that most LFS-s can stock a particular fish if you ask them to get it from their distributors.

2) Many ppl here have a problem with large stores because they a) represent what's wrong with the capitalist system--taking the "mom and pop" out of the fish business--and b) because they often take poor care of their fish. I've seen both well-kept Petsmarts and horribly-kept Petcos (and vice versa). Go to these stores if they give you a better selection, and if you feel the LFS takes poor care of its fish.