Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-28-2013, 07:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
NOTDaleJR88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10
What to do about this...

Well, this kinda sucks!


Tested the water this morning to find my Ammonia at some level between 1.5 & 2.0ppm. So after returning from church and watching some Nascar I got started on the water changes.

I estimate I've changed 70% of my water this afternoon. And I am STILL seeing about .5ppm levels.

So I think to myself... I wonder where my water (my tap water) is. And test the tap water and get this!



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4001453422.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	135.2 KB
ID:	188906




I'm using the prescribed amounts of API Water Conditioners & Stress Coat for water changes... for the amounts of water when I add them. But I think maybe the amount of ammonia in my tap water is causing me some issues? Should the water conditioner remove the ammonia from the water before I put it in the tank?

For now, I used the API Ammo Lock... so staying on top of it. But will appreciate any comments anyone has.
__________________

__________________
NOTDaleJR88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 07:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KTpoopenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOTDaleJR88 View Post
Well, this kinda sucks!

Tested the water this morning to find my Ammonia at some level between 1.5 & 2.0ppm. So after returning from church and watching some Nascar I got started on the water changes.

I estimate I've changed 70% of my water this afternoon. And I am STILL seeing about .5ppm levels.

So I think to myself... I wonder where my water (my tap water) is. And test the tap water and get this!

I'm using the prescribed amounts of API Water Conditioners & Stress Coat for water changes... for the amounts of water when I add them. But I think maybe the amount of ammonia in my tap water is causing me some issues? Should the water conditioner remove the ammonia from the water before I put it in the tank?

For now, I used the API Ammo Lock... so staying on top of it. But will appreciate any comments anyone has.
I'm not sure about API's water conditioner but I use AmQuel+ for dechlorinating and it also detoxifies ammonia, nitrate and nitrite, which is helpful since my tap water has been known to be super high in ammonia at times. Have you tested your treated tap water?
__________________

__________________
KTpoopenstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 08:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
NOTDaleJR88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTpoopenstein View Post

Have you tested your treated tap water?
I did not.. because to be honest I really didn't realize I had this issue with the tap water until I had done the water changes.

So I will test in a cpl of days as I intend on doing more water changes if the filter has not removed the 'locked' ammonia from the API Ammo Lock.
__________________
NOTDaleJR88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 09:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
With high levels of ammonia in the tap water I wouldn't do more than a 20% change or so. That will give you a safely diluted amount of ammonia. It's a much bigger issue if you're cycling a tank though.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 02:21 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Coursair's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Francisco East Bay Area CA
Posts: 7,920
You might try Prime instead ? Cheaper and helps convert Ammonia AFAIK.
__________________
My 10g Shrimp Jungle My 10g Rimless My 5.5g CRS Tank They are a work in progress
Vid of my Shrimp Jungle
~ Tina
Coursair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 04:49 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coursair View Post
You might try Prime instead ? Cheaper and helps convert Ammonia AFAIK.
The prime won't convert it but instead will detoxify it for a few days. That's another option for keeping your tank.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 05:47 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Coursair's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Francisco East Bay Area CA
Posts: 7,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post

The prime won't convert it but instead will detoxify it for a few days. That's another option for keeping your tank.
http://www.seachem.com/Products/prod...ges/Prime.html

From the manufacturer " Prime® converts ammonia into a safe, non-toxic form that is readily removed by the tank’s biofilter. "

Prime converts Ammonia with binders into Ammonium. Not a long term solution, but used with the PWCs , it can help.

I was tired and typing on the app, so I sometimes answer very briefly. but I wanted to expand on the "convert" part. Sorry for any confusion.

Regards,
Tina ( still not a dude )
__________________
My 10g Shrimp Jungle My 10g Rimless My 5.5g CRS Tank They are a work in progress
Vid of my Shrimp Jungle
~ Tina
Coursair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 11:04 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
NOTDaleJR88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coursair View Post

http://www.seachem.com/Products/prod...ges/Prime.html

From the manufacturer " Prime® converts ammonia into a safe, non-toxic form that is readily removed by the tank’s biofilter. "

Prime converts Ammonia with binders into Ammonium. Not a long term solution, but used with the PWCs , it can help.

I was tired and typing on the app, so I sometimes answer very briefly. but I wanted to expand on the "convert" part. Sorry for any confusion.

Regards,
Tina ( still not a dude )
Well thank you... uhmmm... Dude-ETTE!
__________________

__________________
NOTDaleJR88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×