Why aren't my otos eating the algae in my tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rmills1997

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Well I'm new to planted aquariums and when I added an extra 20 watt bulb on my tank and started dosing with liquid carbon I got a huge algae explosion. I realized I was leaving my light on too long and I need to get some more plants so they can get a lot of nutrients instead of the algae but I have 2 Mystery Snails and 2 oto cats and neither of them seem to be doing much cleaning. The mystery snails I have seen eating algae wafers but they mostly just cruise on the bottom of the tank. I have only seen one of them once on a rock that had a lot of algae on it. I have 3 panda cories and they seem to get more algae than both of the other combined. I got the snails on Sunday. I got the otos Tuesday and I only see them sitting on leaves. I haven't seen them really "sucking" on anything except things that don't really have any algae on them.

Well it depends on the type of algae. If you are talking about something like bba it's to tough for otos and most algae eaters. The only one I know that eats that is a SAE.

It's mostly brown and green algae and a little bit of hair algae

IME mystery snails are useless for algae but I have found oto's to be very effective. They will be more comfortable in a larger group so if your stock allows for it you might want to consider adding 1-2 more (1 per 5 gals max). Mine definitely go to work on the algae at night and just hang in the plants during the day, so try to observe them after the lights have been out for a while.

What size is the tank? You may need more otos if the tanks size allows. The brown algae will go away on it's own and they generally won't eat the hair types of algae.