Why is my tank water level dropping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

swanandmokashi

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I noticed on Saturday that the tank level on my 3 gallon was dropping , so I topped it off. I changed water on Sunday and it was filled to the top.
Today morning (tuesday) I again noticed the water level was good 1/8 th inch lower. I saw no leakage or any water below the tank. Will evaporation cause the level to drop that much? I am confused

My ghost shrimp molted its skin this weekend. I am pretty sure that has nothing to do with the water level but I am a newbie :roll:

Yep, sounds like evaporation. Obviously you want to make sure the tank is not leaking either.

Simple evaporation. Happens to every tank in the water. Mine drop about an inch every 1.5 weeks or so. If I get busy and don't find time for a water change, and they go say 2-3 weeks without, the water level may be as much as 3 inches below the line. But I'm talking 55, 75, and 90 gallon tanks, lots of water. One of the 90 gallons has a 220 watt lighting system so it zaps off quite a bit of water.

Sounds like normal evaporation to me. I wouldn't be too concerned by it. I get a good deal of evaporation in the summer because of the heat and humidity.

Bryan

oh ok cool..i was panicking for no reason then :) of course topping off is not the same as water change.
So you guys add small amount of de-chlorinator when you top off the tank ?

Someone will probably yell at me, but I've stopped bothering with most chemicals, including de-chlorinators. I should probably start using them again though. I have a 50 ft Python hose/syphon, which is a necessity with the size/number of tanks I have. Water goes straight into the tank.

of course topping off is not the same as water change