Why isn't everyone cycling with BioSpira?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rondory

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi,

I'm a newbie and often read how people are cycling the old fashion method with Ammonia, raw shrimp and fish food...etc.

Why not just go out and buy some BioSpira? Is it the cost? Availability? Doesn't it work well?

thank you

Bio-Spira is pretty hard to come by in alot of locations. In the Southern Illinois region I have found 1 location that sells it and would have to drive to STL to purchase it (3 hour trip one way). Plus, it is alot cheaper to buy a container of Ammonia compared to a batch of Bio-Spira.

As long as the batch that you purchase has been properly refrigerated, you shouldn't have a problem. BUT, sometimes some locations do not properly refrigerate the product, thus making it useless.

I didn't have good results with it. There is an old thread around here somewhere chronicling my saga. I used two different packets, obtained from two completely different sources---one mail-ordered, one from a local lfs---and didn't get the expected results with either. I put some fish through a rough cycle as a result.

I don't mean to talk down the product, because some people have great success and because I can't vouch for how it was stored before I got it. (IIRC, the packet that I had shipped came overnight with an icepack.)

Actually, the product is rarely even known by newbies and of course, it's not readily available at most LFS.

Despite all the accolades afforded Bio-Spira, there is nothing like cycling from scratch and then cycling your additional tanks with media from the first one. :)