Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-25-2011, 02:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
Why wont it eat

My variatus stopped eating the other day right after I put a new fish in.what's happening?all my ammonia and ph levels are good..the new fish is a kahuli loch.it's a 5 gallon tank
__________________

__________________
9ujy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9ujy
My variatus stopped eating the other day right after I put a new fish in.what's happening?all my ammonia and ph levels are good..the new fish is a kahuli loch.it's a 5 gallon tank
The platy is probably a little shy... just wait a while for it to get used to the loach, and it should be fine.
__________________

maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:09 PM   #3
PHP
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 144
What test kits are you using?

I am assuming one that has only a Ammonia test and pH tester?

What are you parameters exactly?

A 5 gallon tank is too small for both the khuli and the platy. And khulis need at least a school of 3-6 or more.
__________________
PHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
And another platy is swimming sideways.my mistake is putting the crappy petsamrt water in the tank too.and in the petsmart tank where I got the loach from there was too dead fish floating in it.but my otocinclus and gourami seem to b fine
__________________
9ujy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:29 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9ujy
And another platy is swimming sideways.my mistake is putting the crappy petsamrt water in the tank too.and in the petsmart tank where I got the loach from there was too dead fish floating in it.but my otocinclus and gourami seem to b fine
Did you acclimate the fish?
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
What do u mean by that
__________________
9ujy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:35 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9ujy
What do u mean by that
There's your problem. Goggle acclimate freshwater fish.
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dale_I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Posts: 285
Acclimate is the process of introducing your fish slowly to the tank water so you can avoid harsh parameter changes that the fish can't adapt to, which results in them going into shock and often kills them.

Generally, the accepted procedure is to get a container and put the fish along with the store water in it. Slowly add tank water over time and when the container gets too full, empty a portion of the water. After a while, you have fish sitting in tank water and then you can add them to your community.

I generally take anywhere from 20 to 30 minutes. For more sensitive fish, doing it over 45 minutes to an hour can be recommended.
__________________
Dale
"The only barrier to knowledge is the belief that you have it."
Hedgehogs... why don't they just share the hedge?
Dale_I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
Well I let the bag float for like 15 minutes for all my fish...anyways do you think then water from the store could brought some bacteria something into mine?considering there were two dead fish in theirs
__________________
9ujy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 03:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9ujy
Well I let the bag float for like 15 minutes for all my fish...anyways do you think then water from the store could brought some bacteria something into mine?considering there were two dead fish in theirs
You still need to get them used to your water parameters, not just the temperature.
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 04:00 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
Ok..but why is my platy all screwed up
__________________
9ujy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 04:05 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
maxwellag's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9ujy
Ok..but why is my platy all screwed up
Because its probably in shock. Just wait a while and it should get used to it
maxwellag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 05:14 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
aqua_chem's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 6,936
Wait, how many fish do you have in this 5?
__________________
Algae creates 75% of the world's oxygen, so really we're all just doing our parts...
aqua_chem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 05:16 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
5 now.could this new fish brought a parasite?
__________________
9ujy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 09:03 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
aqua_chem's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 6,936
Thats way too many. Your fish are probably suffering because of decreased water quality. They might have already been weak, and then the new fish brought a bug thats taking advantage of a weakened immune system
__________________
Algae creates 75% of the world's oxygen, so really we're all just doing our parts...
aqua_chem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 09:16 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
Ok.btw how long do parasite medications take to work
__________________
9ujy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 12:48 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dale_I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Posts: 285
Do not treat your tank for parasites unless you have diagnosed the parasite. If you kill the bacteria in the tank with medication your decreased water quality may kill additional fish.
__________________
Dale
"The only barrier to knowledge is the belief that you have it."
Hedgehogs... why don't they just share the hedge?
Dale_I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 01:59 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
Ok but how long do they usually take just for future reference
__________________
9ujy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 01:59 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 123
Say the fizz tablets
__________________
9ujy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 02:29 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
steez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 784
What fizz tablets, and for what parasite?

Your tank is overcrowded, it probably has a bad toxin level. What kind of testing kit do you use? How often do you change the water?

What water dechlor do you use?

Temperature?


What other chemicals have you put into the tank?
__________________

__________________
steez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eat

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×