Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-17-2009, 02:49 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Nippy Fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Carlsbad, California
Posts: 95
Will my tank cycle during move/upgrade?

I am moving my tank and will be upgrading to a new tank during that time and am wondering if it will kick it into a new cycle? I currently have a cycled 55 gallon planted tank. I plan on moving about 30 miles away. I will be removing all the fish and plants and transporting them all by buckets. I will be reusing all the same filters, heater, substrate, driftwood, and rocks, but I will be using a new 75 gallon tank and new water, except for what gets transported with the fish and plants. Will this cause my tank to kick into a new cycle?

I hope not, I'm already concerned about losing fish/plants during this move. I have too many fish in the tank to handle a recycle. I have 1 angelfish, 3 pearl gourami, 7 tiger barbs, 2 yo-yo loaches, 4 emerald green corycats, 6 otocinclus, and about 25 neon tetras. I've had them for a while and really don't want to lose any.
__________________

__________________
Nippy Fish
7.5 Gallon Cube Planted Betta Sorority - 20 Long Planted Community - 10 Gallon RCS Farm - 10 Gallon Crayfish Playpen - 29 Gallon Community - 55 Gallon Planted Community - *Coming Soon* 80 Gallon Community
Nippy Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 02:58 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
shouldnt but you may have a mini cycle. you are using the same substrate? just keep the media and everything wet during the move.
__________________

__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 02:59 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jessicasmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MCRD PI, SC
Posts: 660
I dont know about fresh but in saltwater the water isnt the main supporter of the bacteria its the rock and sand, so I would say as long as you use some of the water it would just be like a large PWC....JMO
__________________
-Zack
I blame Craig AND his stupid List.
jessicasmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 03:11 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
in fw its mostly the filter but also some in the substrate though not as much as in sw.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 03:15 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Nippy Fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Carlsbad, California
Posts: 95
I'm using the same substrate, but I understand that the bacteria grows on the surface of the substrate and I'll be disturbing the substrate so I think I'll lose the bacteria on the surface. Also, I'll be losing all the bacteria on the surface of the glass on my original tank. I'm not sure if there's enough bacteria on the decor and in my filters/media alone to sustain the cycle. I thought I'd buy a bacterial product and add that after I get the new tank setup to give it a little boost? I guess that's all I can do, and cross my fingers. I'm worried about my fish...
__________________
Nippy Fish
7.5 Gallon Cube Planted Betta Sorority - 20 Long Planted Community - 10 Gallon RCS Farm - 10 Gallon Crayfish Playpen - 29 Gallon Community - 55 Gallon Planted Community - *Coming Soon* 80 Gallon Community
Nippy Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 03:18 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
like i said most of it is in the filter. even if some dies you some lost they double every 24 hours so in a day you should be fine. like i said keep everything wet and it should be fine. no need to buy any products.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 10:45 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jessicasmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MCRD PI, SC
Posts: 660
IMO...Bottled Bacteria=snake oil
__________________
-Zack
I blame Craig AND his stupid List.
jessicasmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 10:52 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgamer20o0 View Post
like i said most of it is in the filter. even if some dies you some lost they double every 24 hours so in a day you should be fine. like i said keep everything wet and it should be fine. no need to buy any products.
I agree.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jessicasmarine View Post
IMO...Bottled Bacteria=snake oil
I agree.

I've moved tanks many times, and although it's a giant pain to do, I've never had any problems. You're lucky you're only going 30 miles... I moved my 75 gallon 440 miles a few months ago. It didn't re-cycle. I wouldn't use any of the old water either. You're basically just moving dirty water and if your fish are used to large water changes like mine are, it won't be a problem.
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 02:06 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
taylorodw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 886
I moved my tank and I dunno if I did something wrong, but I am currently re-cycling.
__________________
taylorodw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 02:15 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
I moved my 115G across Vegas and the only thing I kept was the filters and fish. I changed substrate, water and decor. All fish made it but 1 and that one died from stress during the trip, not from the change in tanks. Just temp match the dechlored water and keep anything that has bacteria on it wet and you will be golden.
__________________

spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, move, tan, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to upgrade tank... aquazen Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-04-2008 09:18 AM
Mini cycle after upgrade, possible causes? papa_bear_21 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 08-17-2007 03:15 AM
tank upgrade! xahx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 02-08-2005 06:09 PM
Tank Upgrade Spiderman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-06-2004 03:41 PM
Tank Move/Upgrade; advice please? Thaiboxer Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 12-21-2003 10:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.