Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-08-2011, 11:44 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
Wood

I just bought some mopani wood for my 29gal and I'm soaking it. But about a 3 inch long by 2 inch wide section is sticking out of the water. Is this going to be enough left unsoaked to cloud my water if I soak the rest of my wood? Or am I good bc I don't really have a bigger bucket
__________________

__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
It should not make much of a difference, you can always turn it in the bucket.
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
There's no more room to turn it. And if I put the section that's sticking out in the water even more sticks out from the other side. But ill just run carbon in my filter and probly be good
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
I have a piece that was too long and did as rich said and flipped it every couple days or so after replacing the water for the 2+ weeks I soaked it and it worked great. I'd suggest using poly-fil to get the tannins out, works as good/better than carbon at 1/20 the cost (relative to what you use).
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 12:15 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
I would take your advice on that but I just bought a new filter and held off on putting the carbon in for just this reason. Thank you though
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 02:04 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarpon
I would take your advice on that but I just bought a new filter and held off on putting the carbon in for just this reason. Thank you though
Trouble is the tannins wil load up the carbon in no time and youl have to cough up another $5 in a week or 2. A bag of poly-fil will cost the same price and last a year.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 02:08 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
Ohhh....I thought carbon was just to clear the water? Do I need to keep replacing it if I have DW in the water?
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 02:18 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarpon
Ohhh....I thought carbon was just to clear the water? Do I need to keep replacing it if I have DW in the water?
Carbon has a finite amount of adsorption before it loads up and can do nothing else (besides being replaced). Tannins as I understand it will load carbon up faster than many of the stuff it'll adsorb. Ploy-fil will load up fast too, but a handful in your filter for week will only cost you about $.02, not $5.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 02:45 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
So I always need carbon in my filter if I have DW??
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 02:54 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarpon
So I always need carbon in my filter if I have DW??
I only ever use carbon when I need to remove meds, other wise it's an expensive scrubber and tannins or not, it'll continue to load up and need to be replaced every 2 weeks to 1 month from everything I've read/mfg recommendations.

That's $60 to $120 per year vs $5 (approx.) and I can do a fair amount with (up to) $115 savings a year on my tank, like buy a brand new Fluval 305 canister filter (which wil get poly-fil) lol.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 02:57 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
Soo.....no? The DW wont continue to leach tannins forever that need to be carbon filtered? So they don't cloud my water?
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 03:08 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarpon
Soo.....no? The DW wont continue to leach tannins forever that need to be carbon filtered? So they don't cloud my water?
There's more to catch than tannins and my water is crystal clear since using poly-fil, tannins or not.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 03:10 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
Ohhh haha...well just what is this poly-fill and where can I get it. Do I need a media bag? Does it do alll the same things as carbon?
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 03:21 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ejaramillo01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South California
Posts: 2,288
Send a message via MSN to ejaramillo01
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Limpet

There's more to catch than tannins and my water is crystal clear since using poly-fil, tannins or not.
What is your opinion of the Purigen?
__________________
=================================
Edgar
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-103339.html
ejaramillo01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 03:22 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarpon
Ohhh haha...well just what is this poly-fill and where can I get it. Do I need a media bag? Does it do alll the same things as carbon?
It doesn't do the same thing as carbon, in that it won't remove meds or trace elements (which you need) and some other stuff. You can get poly-fil at most any craft or fabric store (I recommend the Fairfield brand only).

In your AC50, put the sponge in the bottom of the basket, a small handful of poly-fil on it and the biomedia (in the bag) on top. Works like a charm and there's a few members here that love what's its done for the water quality of their water/tanks.

I use it in HOB and canister filters and it does a great job. The best part is you can "see" when it needs to be replaced, with carbon you can't tell at all that's it's loaded up and needs a fresh pack.
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 03:24 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
tarpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,314
Alright ill look for it at hobby lobby or somewhere. Just what is it exactly? Its not meant for aquariums?
__________________
tarpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 03:36 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejaramillo01

What is your opinion of the Purigen?
I haven't used it myself. I do know that it removes ammo, no2 and no3 really well, but a good bacteria colony should take care of the first 2 and the no3 I want in my tanks for plants to feed off. I could see using this when I get my SW setup going since I'll be using a canister and not a sump.

http://www.seachem.com/Products/prod...s/Purigen.html
__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 03:43 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mr. Limpet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern California (Marin)
Posts: 4,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarpon
Alright ill look for it at hobby lobby or somewhere. Just what is it exactly? Its not meant for aquariums?
You might find poly-fil at your LFS, I did and it was 1/2 a bag for twice the price. I'm guessing, but it must cost a lot to print the word "Aquarium" on the packaging lol.
__________________

__________________
Mr. Limpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wood

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« Ac 50 | my tank »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New piece of wood Chris22 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 11-13-2011 04:13 PM
Making wood soup... Gnarls Gnarlington Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-06-2011 01:46 PM
rotting drift wood tmdavies Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 06-30-2011 01:25 PM
co2 wood airstone question JavaMoss Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 0 06-25-2011 04:02 PM
My 75 gallon stand with Marineland 530 canister plecoking DIY Projects 0 06-25-2011 02:44 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×