Yellow BullHead Catfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishLover14

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Does anyone have any experenice with the yellow bullhead catfish? If anyone does please give some tips and your experences with keeping them.

Thanks

I once had brown bullheads. they eat huge amounts and grow quickly, and of course, they have huge mouths, so anything that will fit, and is edible, is fair game. I didn't keep them very long. When they outgrew the tank, (which was only a few weeks) I took them back to the lake.

Hey Dan! Long time no post! :D Welcome Back to the site!

I have no experience with them so I can't comment, just wanted to say Hi!

Keep the oil at about 350, use a nice deep cast iron pan, and use cornmeal to bread 'em with...

Oh, you mean keeping 'em? :)

Yep I found out the hard way they eat tons. I feed 40-50 Oemga One Shrimp Pellets a night. I had them in a tank with some small fish and the fish just kept disaperiring and i had a lot of plant life in the tank so i figured they are just hiding but then on of the bigger of them turned up one morning with nothing but a skeleton left of it. I have seen themm just grab a little fish head first and eat it. Needless to say they are in a tnak by themselves. Mine are only around 3 1/2 -4 inches each so far, but i imaguine they will get bigger they are really cutte fish but they are quite exspesive to feed.

Anyone think a half grown Mbuna Cichlid would be a good tankmate for them?
Does anyone think you could establidsh a community of mbuna with them in the tank too?

Thanks.

P.S. I intend to keep the catfish not roll them in cornmeal.

I've had a lot of them over the years.

They are pretty easy to care for. Keep salinity very low, provide enough filtration, feed them enough, give them a big enough tank, and choose there tankmates correctly.