Zebra mussels

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lenny

Aquarium Advice Newbie
First off a big hello to everyone.....yes, I'm a newbie in here. Been doing alot of reading on the forum (very helpfull stuff in here). Now for my question, I was wondering if you can put zebra mussels in a community tank....Im from northern Ohio and Lake Erie is infested with these and it hit me how well the zebra mussels cleaned up the lake ...they may do a good job in adding to the filtration of the tank !!! I know the downfalls of these things is the rapid reproduction (not too worried, just have to thin out the herd every so often), but these little guys filter 1quart per day each !! I have a 35 gal with
Convict Cichlid
Lemon
Red Zebra Cichlid
Tire Track Eel
and a few bottom feeders......

i would not recommend it because of diseases that could be brought to the tank also the zebra mussels are extremely sharp and would most likely cut your fish if they hit them.exspecially your bottom feeders. if your having problems with filtiration upgrade your filter or dont feed so much and change your water more often.

ryan said:
. if your having problems with filtiration upgrade your filter or dont feed so much and change your water more often.

Hell....thats too much work....lol :wink: :wink:

I wouldn't do it.

From what i've heard is they actually filter the water TOO much and deplete any trace nutrient level present.

I don't know a whole lot about them other then they take over everything and what I mentioned so i'll leave it at that.

I believe the baby mussels are parasitic on fish as well. Could be a real problem if they spawned, and dead mussels wil pollute the water very quickly.

toddnbecka said:
I believe the baby mussels are parasitic on fish as well. Could be a real problem if they spawned, and dead mussels wil pollute the water very quickly.