apple snails

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kirkland795

Aquarium Advice Regular
So I'm new to keeping apple snails and just picked up 2 at my lfs. They are probably close to 3 inches each. I was wondering how big will they get and how long do they live for? Any info would be appreciated.

Here is a picture of the two.

Attachments

• 20140825_170753.jpg
    20140825_170753.jpg
    177.5 KB · Views: 119
I can't get the website to load. I think it might be down or something. Do you know some basic info like life span? I've tried searching for information online but I seem to find different information on websites so I'm not sure whats true.

Hi, your guy's look like my cana snail lucky! They can live for 2yrs plus in cool temps and I even spoke to people who've had them for over 5 yrs! In warmer temps they average about a year. Like autumn said applesnail.net is a great place to look I'm a member on there too. Here's a picture of mine see if yours look the same. 1409003514930.jpg

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Your snail does look similar to the ones I have. I finally was able to get the website for apple snails to load and I joined so hopefully my specific species can be identified. These guys eat everything! Algae, fresh veggies, and one of my neon tetras that passed away before I could remove it from the tank! Such great scavengers.

Clue me in to where to get these guys. I've been looking for some time,

Thanks and P.M. me.

Canna applesnails are the ones that eat plants. They get huge. As big as your hand. Regular mystery snails, Diffusa, are plant safe as long as they get leftover fish food and algae. They only resort to eating live plants when they run out of anything else to eat. The cana ones eat everything.