Brine Shrimp Colony

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jak

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm completely new to inverts and I was wondering if anyone has kept or heard of someone who kept a sustainable brine shrimp (or other) colony with the intent of having them in a tank where fish would eat them and they would reproduce fast enough to be sustainable?

I've gotten as far as I'd probably need to keep a wad of java moss to keep the shrimp safe while they breed. That's all haha.

Id be interested in feeding my fish too I just wondered if I could build them into an eco system.

Last edited by a moderator:
They need saltwater so you can't keep them with the feeding tank. If you want to breed them you should set up a 5-10 gallon aquarium. Once it's set up you just hatch eggs and then wait for them to hatch and they'll breed by themselves. After around a week they will be mature enough to breed and are capable of breeding about every 4 days. Know that adult brine shrimp don't have as much nutritional value as babies unless you fortify them

There are other shrimp that you can grow in a freshwater environment - scuds or fairy shrimp for example. If you set the tank up correctly and don't overstock your fish population, then the shrimp population can be maintained in the tank. Issues include things like the shrimp will eat eggs that are laid, not enough hidding places for the shrimp so they all get ate, etc.

brine shrimp hatched from eggs lose all there nutritional value after a few hours frm hatching

brine shrimp hatched from eggs lose all there nutritional value after a few hours frm hatching