Fresh Clams?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ExperimentLain

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi All! I am looking at possibly getting a fresh water clam or two? I was wondering if this was a good idea or not? I have 2 banjo cats, a loach, 5 corycats and a frog on the bottom of the tank, along with 2 small bristle plecos and an apple snail. As far as middle and top fish I have 5 rasboras. and some plants and duck weed.

Would a clam fit in okay or should I pass? Do they breed easily?:fish2:

Clams are filter feeders, and need to be fed special foods.... They are very hard to care for, and I would not recommend them.

They sound cool, and I've had them before but they didn't survive very long.

Maybe snails are a better idea?

Although I have head that loaches eat them, but I've got no experience on loaches....

Speaking from experience, clams are a pain! I used to rescue some from the local Creek over the summers and keep them in the tanks, since the creek would dry up and create a mass death of clams and fish. While it was only temporary and a majority survived, dead clam is NOT something you want inside and in your tank! Not only does it smell awful (and I mean AWFUL) but it really messes with your tank.

0/10 would not recommend

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk

I concur, clams are not great tank inhabitants. If you have a green water tank with water flow they work just fine. Over and above that the specialized foods are mostly designed for salt water critters and generally very messy.

What size is the tank? I have 2 that have been doing great for many months in a 56 gallon but I've never had luck in tanks any smaller.

THanks all for the great advice and warning me about these little guys! I kept finding mixed 'facts' about them. I knew I would get the answers here!