Perfect Shrimp Tank?!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Autumnsky

Site Team
What do you know/think makes a perfect shrimp tank?

Recently began preparring for a new tank and new type of shrimp, and there are soooo many choices.

Substrates, and substrate additives - mindblowing.

Decor: DW - Spider, Malaysian, Manzanita, local, stone -Dragon, Ohko, Seiryu, Petrified Wood etc.

Plants wow are there options. Ferts?!

Co2, dosing carbon, or not.

Low light - medium or high

Additives, like leaves, mineral ball type stuff...

Water vitamins, carbohydrates, other crazy stuff.

Crazy amount of special foods too. Staggering.

I have been keeping shrimp for almost 5 years, primarily the Noecaridina, but venturing into the Caridina again.

Feeling I have been moderately to very successful with many kinds of shrimp, I haven't had most of these super special things helping me (or helping empty my wallet of $).
<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>

What is /has worked for you and what do you like and why and if you have something that didn't work, what was the issue if you know?

What is your perfect tank?

Here is a pic of one of my very successful tanks a long time ago. 2013 Had 120 Nice Red Cherry Shrimp about half adults and half babies/juveniles.

60074-albums9764-picture50416.jpg

60074-albums9764-picture61198.jpg

I also feel that there is a pressure to make the tank a nicely scaped tank but not always the best tank for the shrimp or nano fish. An experience I had breaking down a tank yesterday made me think of that.

Last edited:
What do you know/think makes a perfect shrimp tank?

Recently began preparring for a new tank and new type of shrimp, and there are soooo many choices.

Substrates, and substrate additives - mindblowing.

Decor: DW - Spider, Malaysian, Manzanita, local, stone -Dragon, Ohko, Seiryu, Petrified Wood etc.