Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Invertebrates
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-27-2013, 12:47 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Red Cherry Shrimp advice needed!

I am officially turning my 10 gallon into a red cherry shrimp species only tank. Me being a noob I have quite a few questions and I would love anyone's input/advice!

1. What substrate is the best but not overly expensive. I will have low light plants some with roots. I really want something shrimp can sift through.

2. I'm really stuck on what filter to buy. At the moment I have a tetra whisperer 30 but I'm going to use that for a 20 gallon long tank so Id need to buy a new filter for this tank. I want something that is good for both shrimp and plants. I read that plants require water movement which prevents algae build up and gives circulation.

3. Do multiple pieces of drift wood look better than one long center price?

I have Petco Petsmart as well as two other lfs around me so I have lots of options. I'd rather not order stuff online so I don't had to deal with shipping. I don't really have a budget I just don't want to pay a ton of money for stuff that won't last long. I also am aware I will need root tabs and ferts. If anyone is currently in the same situation feel free to tag along!Thanks guys

Old 01-27-2013, 01:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Aquaclear filters are good. Just use a sponge over the intake. I use Fluval prefilter sponges from Amazon. You can buy at stores also.

I use sand in my tanks. My Shrimp love it.
I like black sand.

I have lots of plants.

Coursair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:17 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Is sand ok for rooting plants too? And what size HOB should I get because right now I have one for 30 gallons and it creates lots of flow
Old 01-27-2013, 10:42 AM   #4